Divinity

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.
DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd Help FAQs

Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. 

• Divinity Subject Guide
• History Subject Guide
• Classics Subject Guide
• All Subject guides

Founded in 1843 as the library of the Free Church College, New College Library now serves the University's School of Divinity and the wider University community. It is one of the largest theological libraries in the UK. For all general enquiries about New College Library, please email :  IS.Helpdesk@ed.ac.uk

Church of Scotland and Free Church of Scotland

The University of Edinburgh Library has a historic partnership with the Church of Scotland and the Free Church of Scotland, who have formed the historic collections at New College Library. As part of this arrangement, ministers, ministry students and church staff are entitled to free external borrower membership. To register for this free membership, please call at the New College Library Helpdesk and present either an ID card or an official letter confirming your status within the Church.

Church of Scotland and Free Church of Scotland 

Other denominations

Ministers and members of all denominations are welcome to use the book collections and study spaces at New College Library. Categories for library membership include:

Alumni membership - for graduates of the University of Edinburgh, who are entitled to free reference and borrowing membership.

Graduates of University of Edinburgh

Members of the public can use New College Library and all University of Edinburgh Libraries by prior registration and on production of appropriate proof of identity. Reference access is free, but fees apply for borrowing.

Members of the public 

New College Library Special Collections include manuscripts and archives, rare books, theses, photographs, and objects. The collections relate to New College, the School of Divinity at the University of Edinburgh, and the religious life of Scotland and the wider world.

The new Funk Reading Room supports access to New College Library Special Collections. All research visits require an appointment. To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk.