Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
World Christianity
World Christianity library resources will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check this on DiscoverEd. However, classmark BV for Practical Theology and Mission might be a useful place to start browsing the books.
- New College Library holds excellent current and historic collections relating to Christian mission, particularly for Scottish Presbyterian denominations.
-
The Main Library holds related collections for African Studies (including the Centre for African Studies Collections) and East Asian Studies.
E-books for World Christianity
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic World Christianity e-books. These include:
Chinese Public Theology by ISBN: 0198808690
Christianity in the Twentieth Century by ISBN: 0691157103
The Global Diffusion of Evangelicalism by ISBN: 0830825851
Light on Darkness by ISBN: 0802865240
Migration and Christian Identity in Congo (DRC) by ISBN: 9004164642
Brazilian Evangelicalism in the Twenty-First Century by ISBN: 9783030136857
Tiyo Soga by
Tiyo Soga: A Literary History offers a comprehensive study of Soga's literary significance and his lasting relevance to African intellectualism, diaspora, and theological studies. Davis presents fresh scholarship on Soga's literary works. Her meticulous research has unearthed previously lost writings including speeches, letters, and two grammatical treatises on the use of Xhosa in the translation of the Bible into Xhosa. In combination, these discoveries will contribute to reshaping South African literary history.
ISBN: 9781868888283
Reference books for World Christianity
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic World Christianity reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library Hall. These include:
Atlas of Global Christianity by ISBN: 0748632670
Biographical Dictionary of Christian Missions by ISBN: 0028646045
A Dictionary of Asian Christianity by ISBN: 080283776X
Dictionary of Third World Theologies by ISBN: 1570752346
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the Global South by
Christianity has transformed many times in its 2,000-year history, from its roots in the Middle East to its presence around the world today. From the mid-twentieth century onward the presence of Christianity has increased dramatically in Asia, Africa, and Latin America, and the majority of the world's Christians are now nonwhite and non-Western. The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the Global South traces both the historical evolution and contemporary themes in Christianity in more than 150 countries and regions. The volumes include maps, images, and a detailed timeline of key events. The phrases "Global Christianity" and "World Christianity" are inadequate to convey the complexity of the countries and regions involved--this encyclopedia, with its more than 500 entries, aims to offer rich perspectives on the varieties of Christianity where it is growing, how the spread of Christianity shapes the faith in various regions, and how the faith is changing worldwide.
ISBN: 1442271566
World Christian Encyclopedia by ISBN: 0195103181
Data sources
- Finding data : Research Data ServiceFind data freely available on the internet or through University of Edinburgh subscriptions.
- World Christian DatabaseThe World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.
- World Religion DatabaseThe World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.
Finding academic literature for World Christianity
- China, Culture & SocietySpanning three centuries (c. 1750-1929), this resource makes available the pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
- *New* Church Missionary Society Archives - AM Explorer"A rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical movement and still active today. Scholars of missionary and global history will find this collection an invaluable research source. This varied archive includes records of both the CMS and the many other missionary societies which became associated or amalgamated with it.
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals Module 1: Global Missions and Contemporary Encounters, 1804-2009Publications from the CMS and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society.
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals Module 2: Medical Journals, Asian Missions and the Historical RecordPublications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from churches and student missions in China and Japan, and periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers.
- Global Missions & TheologyNineteenth century missionary activities reproduced in personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies, chiefly from the US but also worldwide.
- Missionary StudiesFormed from archival collections relating to Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas, it includes records of female missionaries and women’s missionary organisations.
- Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965Digitised from the Bodleian's Commonwealth and African manuscripts and archives, this database contains documents relating to the UMCA’s (Universities’ Mission to Central Africa) activities in Tanzania and Malawi during the period 1857-1965.
Journals for World Christianity
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic World Christianity journals. These include:
- International bulletin of mission researchCall Number: Per I, Online
- International journal for the study of the Christian church.Call Number: Per I, Online
- International Journal of Asian ChristianityCall Number: Online
- Journal of African Christian ThoughtCall Number: Per J
- Mission StudiesCall Number: Per M, Online
- Studies in World ChristianityCall Number: Per S, Online
- TransformationCall Number: Per T, Online
New College Library Special Collections for World Christianity
Robert Morrison’s Chinese New Testament (Inglis 20)
New College Library's historic collections for World Christianity are particularly strong in the area of Bibles from all over the world. The Paterson Bible Collection contains early Bibles in many languages, and particularly from Northern Europe where Paterson was a missionary. The Inglis Chinese Collections include several early printed Chinese New Testaments. New College's archive collections include the J.H. Oldham & Betty D. Gibson Papers, papers of New College Missionary Societies, the papers of Robert Laws and John Murray Mitchell.
To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk
Centre for the Study of World Christianity Archives
The Centre for the Study of World Christianity Archives are held at the Centre for Research Collections University of Edinburgh Main Library, George Square, Edinburgh, EH8 9LJ. The collections include the papers of missionaries, missionary organisations and extensive runs of nineteenth and twentieth century mission periodicals eg
-
Latin Link (formerly Evangelical Union of South America) (ref. CSWC51)
-
The Regions Beyond Missionary Union (ref. CSWC33)
-
Some Church of Scotland Foreign Mission records, including audio-visual material (refs. CSWC40, CSWC41, CSWC42 and CSWC47)
-
Papers of Isabel Fleming and Jessie Service (ref. CSWC7)
-
Papers of Myra Carpenter (ref. CSWC 18)
-
Papers of Adrian Hastings (ref. CSWC36)
-
Papers of Tom Colvin (ref. CSWC39)