Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Library Collections for Inter-faith dialogue
Books relating to inter-faith dialogue will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check for titles on DiscoverEd. In the library, you may find BL410 a useful place to start browsing.
Books for Inter-faith dialogue
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Religious Studies e-books. These include:
Christians, Muslims, and Jesus by ISBN: 0300205279
Law and the rule of God : a Christian engagement with Shari'a / by ISBN: 9781108489829
Persecution, Polemic, and Dialogue : essays in Jewish-Christian relations by ISBN: 9781934843765
The Names of God in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam by
This book offers a welcome solution to the growing need for a common language in interfaith dialogue; particularly between the three Abrahamic faiths in our modern pluralistic society. The book suggests that the names given to God in the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament and the Qur'an, could be the very foundations and building blocks for a common language between the Jewish, Christian and Islamic faiths. On both a formal interfaith level, as well as between everyday followers of each doctrine, this book facilitates a more fruitful and universal understanding and respect of each sacred text; exploring both the commonalities and differences between each theology and their individual receptions. In a practical application of the methodologies of comparative theology, Maire Byrne shows that the titles, names and epithets given to God in the sacred texts of Judaism, Christianity and Islam contribute towards similar images of God in each case, and elucidates the importance of this for providing a viable starting point for interfaith dialogue.
ISBN: 9781441141989
Heritage Collections
View of pages from the Mukhtasar Kitab al-Hisnul-Hasin, Or.Ms 172
The Heritage Collections teams preserve, provide access to and interpret the heritage collections looked after by the University.
They are based at Centre for Research Collections (CRC), which holds the Oriental Manuscripts Collection, including Arabic manuscripts such as commentaries on the Koran; traditions of the Prophet and Imam and prayers. The CRC also holds extensive collections of Bibles, sermons and Christian literature.
All of these collections can be accessed at the CRC on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Find academic literature for Inter-faith dialogue
- Atla Religion databaseCovers all aspects of religion. ATLA Serials include full text access to over 330 journals.
- Christian-Muslim Relations vols 1 & 2Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History Online is a general history of relations between the two faiths as this is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other.
- Religion Past & PresentReligion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG) which aims to be the definitive encyclopedia of subjects connected with religion.
- Twentieth-Century Religious Thought : Christianity & IslamTwentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Islam provides an extensive research database focusing on modern Islamic theology and tradition.
Journals for Islam & Christian-Muslim Relations
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic journals in this area. These include:
- Islam and Christian Muslim RelationsCall Number: Online
- Journal of Hindu-Christian StudiesCall Number: Online
- Studies in Christian-Jewish RelationsCall Number: Online
- Studies in interreligious dialogue.Call Number: Online
- Studies in world christianity and interreligious relations.Call Number: Online
Highlights of Library collections related to the Middle East
Jami' al-Tawarikh (World History) by Rashid al-Din (d.1318)
Possibly the greatest treasure in the Library. It was written in the Naskh script by the scholar and courtier Rashid al-Din (d.1318) and contains 70 illustrated folios. Heritage Collections, Or.Ms.20. View the digital version here.
Al-Biruni's Chronology of Ancient Nations, Tabriz, Iran, 706 AH (AD 1307)
A chronicle of a vast number of calendars and chronological systems from a variety of different cultural and religious groups from throughout the late antique and medieval periods in the Hellenic world, Central Asia and the Near East. Heritage Collections, Or.Ms.161.
Sharh al-qism al-thalith min al-Miftah (AD 1423)
View of pages from Sharh al-qism al-thalith min al-Miftah showing text with notes in margins and between lines. Completed in c.1385-1386, Sharh al-Miftah is a commentary on the third book of Al-Sakkaki's popular rhetorical work, the Miftah al-ulum, and was written by the Persian polymath al-Taftazani.
Reference books for inter-faith dialogue
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library Hall. These include:
Interreligious Studies by
The emergence of the field of interreligious studies is emerging as a response to critical issues within our religiously plural world. Religious conflicts, large and small, continue to plague our society, as the challenges of navigating religious difference emerge in daily encounters among people who would like to get along in the public square that they fashion together. These challenges unfold within families, congregations, college campuses, workplaces, communities, media, and cyberspace. This volume offers a comprehensive introduction to interreligious studies. Providing an overview of the history, terms, and characteristics of the field, Rachel Mikva explores the ethical, philosophical, and theological foundations for pluralism. She also presents guidelines and case studies that demonstrate how interreligious understanding and solidarity can be achieved. Designed for use in undergraduate and graduate courses, the volume also will be useful to medical doctors, social workers, police officers, corporate managers, and others whose work requires multi-cultural competence.
ISBN: 9781108843775
Dictionary of contemporary religion in the Western world by ISBN: 0851119824
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions by
Abridged from the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of religion available in paperback. Written by an expert team of contributors, the volume contains over 8,000 entries, an extensive topic index, and an original and in-depth introductory essay. -- Coverage of Religions; Movements, sects, and cults; Texts or books; Individuals; Sacred sites; Ethics; and Themes such as prayer and music and dance -- Extensive topic index groups entries under themes -- Original and in-depth introductory essay on Religion what is it?
ISBN: 9780192800947
Talking Dialogue by
Throughout the last two decades, the modern dialogue movement has gained worldwide significance. The knowledge about its origins is, however, still very limited. This book presents a wide range of insights from eleven case studies into the early history of several important international interreligious/interfaith dialogue organizations that have shaped the modern development of interreligious dialogue from the late nineteenth century up to the present. Based on new archival research, they describe, on the one hand, how these actors put their ideals into practice and, on the other, how they faced many challenges as pioneers in the establishment of new interreligious/interfaith organizational structures. This book concludes with a comparison of those case studies, bringing to light new and broader historico-sociological understanding of the beginnings of international and multi-religious interreligious/interfaith dialogue organizations over more than one century.　 The World's Parliament of Religions / 1893 The Religiöser Menschheitsbund / 1921 The World Congress of Faiths / 1933-1950 The Committee on the Church and the Jewish People of the World Council of Churches / 1961 The Temple of Understanding / 1968 The International Association for Religious Freedom / 1969 The World Conference on Religion and Peace / 1970 The Council for a Parliament of the World's Religions / 1989-1991 The Oxford International Interfaith Centre / 1993 The United Religions Initiative / 2000 The Universal Peace Federation / 2005 Based on these analyses, the authors identify three distinct groups with sometimes-conflicting interests that are shaping the movement: individual religious virtuosi, countercultural activists, and representatives of religious institutions. Published in cooperation with the King Abdullah Bin Abdulaziz International Centre for Interreligious & Intercultural Dialogue, Vienna.
ISBN: 9783110472929
Data sources
- Finding data : Research Data ServiceFind data freely available on the internet or through University of Edinburgh subscriptions.
- World Christian DatabaseThe World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.
- World Religion DatabaseThe World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.