Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Library Resources for Christianity
Library resources relating to Christianity will be found throughout in New College Library and the Main Library – check your reading list on DiscoverEd. However, these classmarks may prove useful for browsing :
BR - Christianity | BS - The Bible | BT - Doctrinal Theology | BV - Practical Theology | BX - Christian Denominations
Books for Christianity
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Theology & Ethics books. These include:
The Bloomsbury Handbook to Studying Christians by
Drawing on a range of methodologies, editors George D. Chryssides and Stephen E. Gregg shift attention from normative textual and doctrinal matters to issues of materiality and everyday life in Christianity. This handbook is structured in four parts, which include coverage of the following aspects of Christianity: sacred space and objects, cyber-Christianity, food, prayer, education, family life, fundamentalism and sexuality. In addition, issues of gender, race and ethnicity are treated throughout. The international team of contributors provide in-depth analysis that highlight the current state of academic study in the field and explores areas in which future research might develop. Clearly organised to help users quickly locate key information and analysis, the book includes an A to Z of key terms, extensive guides to further resources, a comprehensive bibliography and a chronology of landmark events, making it a unique resource to upper-level students and researchers.
ISBN: 9781350043381
Christianity in the Twentieth Century by
A history of unparalleled scope that charts the global transformation of Christianity during an age of profound political and cultural change Christianity in the Twentieth Century charts the transformation of one of the world's great religions during an age marked by world wars, genocide, nationalism, decolonization, and powerful ideological currents, many of them hostile to Christianity. Written by a leading scholar of world Christianity, the book traces how Christianity evolved from a religion defined by the culture and politics of Europe to the expanding polycentric and multicultural faith it is today--one whose growing popular support is strongest in sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, China, and other parts of Asia. Brian Stanley sheds critical light on themes of central importance for understanding the global contours of modern Christianity, illustrating each one with contrasting case studies, usually taken from different parts of the world. Unlike other books on world Christianity, this one is not a regional survey or chronological narrative, nor does it focus on theology or ecclesiastical institutions. Rather, Stanley provides a history of Christianity as a popular faith experienced and lived by its adherents, telling a compelling and multifaceted story of Christendom's fortunes in Europe, North America, and across the rest of the globe. Transnational in scope and drawing on the latest scholarship, Christianity in the Twentieth Century demonstrates how Christianity has had less to fear from the onslaughts of secularism than from the readiness of Christians themselves to accommodate their faith to ideologies that privilege racial identity or radical individualism.
ISBN: 9780691157108
The Future of Christian Theology by ISBN: 9781405142724
The Oxford Handbook of Aquinas by
Thomas Aquinas (1224/6-1274) lived an active, demanding academic and ecclesiastical life that ended while he was still comparatively young. He nonetheless produced many works, varying in length from a few pages to a few volumes.The present book is an introduction to this influential author and a guide to his thought on almost all the major topics on which he wrote. The book begins with an account of Aquinas's life and works. The next section contains a series of essays that set Aquinas in his intellectual context. They focus on the philosophical sources that are likely to have influenced his thinking, the most prominent of which were certain Greek philosophers (chiefly Aristotle), Latin Christian writers (such as Augustine), and Jewish and Islamic authors (such as Maimonides and Avicenna). The subsequent sections of the book address topics that Aquinas himself discussed. These include metaphysics, the existence and nature of God, ethics and action theory, epistemology, philosophy of mind and human nature, the nature of language, and an array of theological topics, including Trinity, Incarnation, sacraments, resurrection, and the problem of evil, among others. These sections include more than thirty contributions on topics central to Aquinas's own worldview. The final sections of the volume address the development of Aquinas's thought and its historical influence. Any attempt to present the views of a philosopher in an earlier historical period that is meant to foster reflection on that thinker's views needs to be both historically faithful and also philosophically engaged. The present book combines both exposition and evaluation insofar as its contributors have space to engage in both. This Handbook is therefore meant to be useful to someone wanting to learn about Aquinas's philosophy and theology while also looking for help in philosophical interaction with it.
ISBN: 9780195326093
The Routledge Companion to the Practice of Christian Theology by
This Companion introduces readers to the practice of Christian theology, covering what theologians do, why they do it, and what steps readers can take in order to become theological practitioners themselves. The volume aims to capture the variety of practices involved in doing theology, highlighting the virtues that guide them and the responsibilities that shape them. It　also　shows that the description of these practices, virtues and responsibilities is itself theological: what Christian theologians do is shaped by the wider practices and beliefs of Christianity. Written by a team of leading theologians, the Companion provides a unique resource for students and scholars of theology alike.
ISBN: 9781317532002
The Witness
The Witness was a twice-weekly Christian newspaper created by Hugh Miller, an influential writer, geologist and stone mason in 1840. Between 1840-1856, The Witness reported on current events, news and comment from across Scotland, including the Disruption of the Church of Scotland in 1843. This makes The Witness newspaper a fantastic primary source for this significant event in Scotland’s social and religious history,
Thanks to grant support from the Church of Scotland, the University of Edinburgh has been able to digiitise the entire New College Library run of The Witness. In total, we processed over 11,000 images as part of this project which can now all be found on our Image Collections Website.
Find academic literature for Christianity
- Atla Religion databaseCovers all aspects of Christianity. ATLA Serials include full text access to over 330 journals.
- Brill encyclopedia of early Christianity onlineThe Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity focuses on the history of early Christian texts, authors, ideas. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE.
- The Digital Karl Barth LibraryThe database features the entire corpus of Barth's works in German, currently comprising 45 volumes of theological writings, lectures, letters, sermons, and interviews.
- Theology & Religion OnlineIncludes over 250 e-book titles from T&T Clark in the Theology Library, Jesus Library, and Library of Catholic Thought
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought - ChristianityTwentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.
Journals for Christianity
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic journals. These include:
- EcclesiologyCall Number: Online
- International Journal for the Study of the Christian ChurchCall Number: Per E, Online
- International Journal of Asian ChristianityCall Number: Online
- Journal of early modern ChristianityCall Number: Online
- Journal of Orthodox Christian StudiesCall Number: Online
- Studies in Christian EthicsCall Number: Per S
- Theology & SexualityCall Number: Online
New College Library Special Collections for Christianity
Calvin, John. Institutes of the Christian Religion. TR. 1611
New College Library holds an outstanding collection of early theological books and archives. The collections cover patristics, hagiography, Reformation writers including Calvin and Knox, eighteenth century Seceders e.g. Ebenezer & Ralph Erskine, the nineteenth century Church in Scotland, Westminster Confessions and Hymnology. The New College Library archives hold the papers of several twentieth century theologians including J.H. Oldham. To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk
Heritage Collections at the University of Edinburgh
Scottish Metrical Psalter. La.III.483.1
The Heritage Collections teams preserve, provide access to and interpret the heritage collections looked after by the University.
The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's heritage collections including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.
The CRC is located on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Reference books for Christianity
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Religious Studies reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library Hall. These include:
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by
Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (Scholarly/Reference) Readers' Choice Awards Honorable Mention The Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology. This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places, and ideas of ancient Christianity. The encyclopedia's A-to-Z coverage extends from "Aaron (iconography)" to "Zosimus, pope" and chronologically from Christianity's origins to Bede (d. 735) in the West and John of Damascus (d. ca. 749) in the Greek East, with detailed emphasis on the first four centuries of Christian history. This edition updates and expands on previous Italian and English-language editions with the addition of more than 500 new articles (added to the current Italian or English edition), including 30 articles exclusive to IVP's edition. Extensive cross-referencing provides ease in exploring related articles, and helpful bibliographies, including primary sources (texts, critical editions, translations) and key secondary sources (books and journal articles), give access to the very latest in-depth scholarship in countless disciplines of study. IVP's new Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity (2014) is translated from Nuovo dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane (2006-2008), produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, the world's foremost center for partristic studies, under the direction of Professor Angelo Di Berardino, and it greatly updates and expands the 1992 Encyclopedia of the Early Church (Oxford University Press/James Clarke).
ISBN: 0830829431
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the Global South by
Christianity has transformed many times in its 2,000-year history, from its roots in the Middle East to its presence around the world today. From the mid-twentieth century onward the presence of Christianity has increased dramatically in Asia, Africa, and Latin America, and the majority of the world's Christians are now nonwhite and non-Western. The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the Global South traces both the historical evolution and contemporary themes in Christianity in more than 150 countries and regions. The volumes include maps, images, and a detailed timeline of key events. The phrases "Global Christianity" and "World Christianity" are inadequate to convey the complexity of the countries and regions involved--this encyclopedia, with its more than 500 entries, aims to offer rich perspectives on the varieties of Christianity where it is growing, how the spread of Christianity shapes the faith in various regions, and how the faith is changing worldwide.
ISBN: 1442271566
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by
Offers information about Early Christianity and late antiquity, from the earliest days of the Church, with coverage of the patristic period, to the period of John Damascene in the East and Bede in the West. This title includes a section of 44 coloured maps and over 300 pictures, many in colour.
ISBN: 0227678958
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope, The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,500 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; other church leaders; saints; and mystics.In this new edition, great efforts have been made to increase and strengthen coverage of non-Anglican denominations (for example non-Western European Christianity), as well as broadening the focus on Christianity and the history of churches in areas beyond Western Europe. In particular, there have been extensive additions with regards to the Christian Church in Asia, Africa, Latin America, North America, and Australasia. Significant updates have also been included on topics such as liturgy, Canon Law, recent international developments, non-Anglican missionary activity, and the increasingly important area of moral and pastoral theology, among many others.Since its first appearance in 1957, the ODCC has established itself as an essential resource for ordinands, clergy, and members of religious orders, and an invaluable tool for academics, teachers, and students of church history and theology, as well as for the general reader.
ISBN: 9780199642465
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of South Asian Christianity by
This encyclopaedia documents the historic presence and contributions of Christianity in India and its neighbouring South Asian countries (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives). In addition, the volume includes entries on Afghanistan and Myanmar and on the global South Asian diaspora. Looking at rich archival material, the work documents the extensive apostolic heritage and the growth of the indigenous church in the post-colonial era, including that of the recent upsurge of the Christianity in some regions (for example, in North-East India and in Nepal), and a proliferation of churches of indigenous origin. Broadly covering events, people, institutions, concepts, theological issues, churches, denominations, historical developments, and contemporary themes, the topics have been addressed keeping in view the South Asian context, its nuances and distinctiveness.An essay on each country opens a window to the history, particularly the Christian component of that country from the beginning up to the present time. In the case of India, there are essays on regions alongside essays on each of the states and several important cities. Orthodox, Catholic, Protestant, and Indigenous Independent (including Pentecostal) traditions have been covered. Separate articles feature major denominations and important institutions and agencies in the region, particularly those of historical significance. Additionally, a number of themes and topics have been addressed which show the contributions of Christians from South Asia to various aspects of theology, ecclesiology, missiology, ecumenics, sociology, nation-building, politics, economics, culture, religion, and society. For easy reference, the contents are arranged alphabetically. Cross-references and brief bibliographical entries help scholars for future research. The bibliographies that most articles conclude with offer an invitation to further exploration.
ISBN: 0198073852Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Digital text collections
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae First time users will be asked to register. Subsequent access requires both the University network access and the login you created. The register/login link is located at the top right corner of the TLG website.