Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Theology in History
Books relating to Theology in History will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check this on DiscoverEd. However, classmarks BR for Christianity and BX for Christian Denominations might be useful places to browse.
- Excellent current and historic collections for History of Christianity can be accessed at New College Library
-
Strong historic and current print collections for History of Christianity can also be accessed at the Main Library.
Books for Theology in History
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic History of Christianity books. These include:
Antiquity and Enlightenment Culture by ISBN: 9789004405035
Justin Martyr and His Worlds by ISBN: 0800662121
John Knox by ISBN: 0300219709
Abandoning America by ISBN: 1843838176
Providence and Empire by ISBN: 0582299608
The Hallowing of Logic by ISBN: 9004226400
Social Christianity in Scotland and Beyond, 1800-2000 by
Social Christianity in Scotland and Beyond explores the multifarious initiatives known variously as 'social Christianity', 'Christian socialism', or the 'social gospel', that spanned countries, continents, decades, and denominations. Building on the scholarship of Stewart J. Brown, to whom this volume is dedicated, fourteen leading and emerging scholars of the history of Christianity consider the varying social policies and initiatives that Christians have pursued in response to industrialisation, urbanisation, expanding global trade networks, and nascent democratic politics. With a particular focus on religious communities in Scotland, the essays provide comparative lenses with which to view sociological and theological developments through examinations of similar phenomena in England, Germany, the Netherlands, and the United States. In adopting an international perspective that extends beyond Britain and the US, this volume encourages a more holistic understanding of social Christianity as part of a multifaceted and fluid belief system that evolved and shifted according to context.
ISBN: 9781399515894
Heritage Collections
Scottish Metrical Psalter. La.III.483.1
The Heritage Collections teams preserve, provide access to and interpret the heritage collections looked after by the University.
The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's heritage collections including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.
The CRC is located on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Finding academic literature for Theology in History
- Acta SanctorumThe Acta Sanctorum Database is a digital collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. *Interested in the Acta Sanctorum? You can ask to see the original edition at New College Library*
- Oxford Scholarly EditionsIncludes The Minutes and Papers of the Westminster Assembly 1643–1652.
- Papal lettersThe electronic version of the celebrated Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe siecle (32 vols.; Rome, 1883- ) and the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIV e siecle (48 vols.; Rome, 1899- ). Complemented with unpublished information. More than 220,000 documents providing insights into the most varied aspects of medieval society
- Religion Past & PresentReligion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG) which aims to be the definitive encyclopedia of subjects connected with religion.
Journals for Theology in History
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Theology in History journals. These include:
- Church history and religious cultureCall Number: Per C
- Journal of Ecclesiastical HistoryCall Number: Per J
- Church historyCall Number: Per C, Online
- Scottish Reformation Society Historical JournalCall Number: Per S
- Studies in Church HistoryCall Number: Online
New College Library Special Collections for Theology in History
NCL INC 66
New College Library holds an outstanding collection of early theological books and archives. The collections cover patristics, hagiography, Reformation writers including Calvin and Knox, eighteenth century Seceders e.g. Ebenezer & Ralph Erskine, the nineteenth century Church in Scotland, Westminster Confessions and Hymnology. From collections of the very earliest printed books, incunabula, to substantial collections of around 35,000 16th-20th century pamphlets New College Library has a huge range of source materials for original research in ecclesiastical history. The New College Archives have a substantial collection of the papers of Thomas Chalmers, a very significant figure in the nineteenth century Scottish church.
To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk
Reference books for Theology in History
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Ecclesiastical history reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library Hall. These include:
The Cambridge History of ChristianityISBN: 0521812445
The New Cambridge History of the BibleISBN: 0521860067
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by ISBN: 0192802909
The Dictionary of Scottish Church History and Theology by ISBN: 0830814078
The Dictionary of Historical Theology by
The Dictionary of Historical Theology is a major new reference work designed for everyone with an interest in the history and development of Christian theology. With 314 entries covering the key figures, theological movements, and significant texts that have shaped Christian thought, The Dictionary of Historical Theology traces the doctrinal development of Christianity from the early church to the present. Varying in length from 500 to 15,000 words, these entries treat the intellectual antecedents and descendents of the figures or schools of thought covered as well as their influence on the wider development of the Christian theological tradition. The 173 contributors to The Dictionary of Historical Theology are without exception proven experts on the topics they address. Drawn from international and interdenominational circles, they tell the story of Christianity from a wide variety of perspectives, successfully capturing the great diversity of traditions that make up the Christian community today. -- Traces Christian theology from the early church to the present -- Covers the key figures, trends, and texts -- Written by
ISBN: 9780802839077
The Witness
The Witness was a twice-weekly Christian newspaper created by Hugh Miller, an influential writer, geologist and stone mason in 1840. Between 1840-1856, The Witness reported on current events, news and comment from across Scotland, including the Disruption of the Church of Scotland in 1843. This makes The Witness newspaper a fantastic primary source for this significant event in Scotland’s social and religious history,
Thanks to grant support from the Church of Scotland, the University of Edinburgh has been able to digiitise the entire New College Library run of The Witness. In total, we processed over 11,000 images as part of this project which can now all be found on our Image Collections Website.
Digital Text Collections
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae First time users will be asked to register. Subsequent access requires both the University network access and the login you created. The register/login link is located at the top right corner of the TLG website.