Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Welcome to the Library
Get started : Home | Using the Library | Library Skills Support | Referencing and Reference management
Explore : Religious Studies | Buddhism | Christianity | Hinduism | Inter-faith dialogue | Islam | Judaism |
Explore : Biblical Studies | The Church in Scotland | Philosophy & Theology | Religion and Literature | Science and Religion | Theology in History | World Christianity |
Go further : New Library Resources for Divinity | More research resources | Freely available e-books |
Your Academic Support Librarian
Welcome to the Library
- Welcome to the Library - Divinity UG StudentsPdf version of the presentation slides for Library Welcome - 12.9.23
Library News and Events
Information about Library news, training, events and service updates.
School of Divinity
New College Library
Founded in 1843 as the library of the Free Church College, New College Library now serves the University's School of Divinity and the wider University community. It is one of the largest theological libraries in the UK. For all general enquiries about New College Library, please email : IS.Helpdesk@ed.ac.uk
New College Library Special Collections
New College Library Special Collections include manuscripts and archives, rare books, theses, photographs, and objects. The collections relate to New College, the School of Divinity at the University of Edinburgh, and the religious life of Scotland and the wider world.
The new Funk Reading Room supports access to New College Library Special Collections. All research visits require an appointment. To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk.
Finding academic literature for Divinity
- ATLA Religion DatabaseCovers all aspects of religion. ATLA Serials include full text access to over 80 journals. Citation information will indicate where full text is available.
- JSTORFull-text journal archive service providing access to complete back runs of all the scholarly journals currently available in JSTOR. Recent volumes are excluded, usually the last 3-5 years, but each year a further year is added to the archive.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought:Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. The collections covers Christianity, Islam, Judaism and Eastern Religions
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.
Resource Lists
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Google Search
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Access eresources using Google Scholar
By linking to the Library you can access full-text where there is a University subscription.
- Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
- Selecting Library Links
- Search for University of Edinburgh. Select it from the list and Save your settings
You will now see FindIt@Edinburgh links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text.
- Google Dataset SearchDataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories.
