Divinity

From Alexander St Press, Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With thousands of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Academic Video Online allows students and researchers alike to analyse unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

A collection of over 108,000 high quality images from North American art museums, presented using the Luna Insight browser.

NB full resolution access to the images is only available on campus.

A Reference tool for the History of Culture: Arkyves is a database, treasure trove and toolbox for those interested in the History of Culture. It is a single access point for thematic searches across a wide variety of cultural heritage collections, contributed by partners like the Dutch Rijksmuseum, the Netherlands Institute for Art History, the Herzog August Bibliothek, and the university libraries of Milan, Utrecht, Glasgow, and Illinois. Ordering and re-ordening motifs, themes, stories and iconographic details in kaleidoscopic fashion Arkyves will make you find many things you did not realize you were looking for.

ARTstor is a digital library of images covering the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

If you wish to download images for your own scholarly use you will need to Register with ARTstor, once you have logged in with EASE. By registering your email address and creating a password you will create a profile which will allow you to download images and save images to folders as part of "My ARTstor". Note: To register for an ARTstor account, you must be on-site at your institution, or logged in through your institution's proxy server.

BFI (British Film Institute) InView is an online resource which offers a unique window on Britain’s changing political, economic and social landscape in the age of film and television.

It comprises over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles from the 20th century to the early 21st. It is easily searchable, comprehensively catalogued and clearly organised under six main themes, each with an introductory essay by an academic historian.

BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely (no expiry) and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across all subscribing institutions.

Over 1.2 million images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use. Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations.

The British Cartoon Archive, from the University of Kent at Canterbury, exists to encourage and facilitate the study of cartoons and caricatures published in the United Kingdom. This is achieved by collecting, preserving, cataloguing, exhibiting, and distributing the work of cartoonists and caricaturists, and by encouraging and publishing studies of their art. The BCA database contains details of the main cartoon collections held in the archive which can be searched online. Cartoons can be found under any of the cataloguing terms used (eg cartoonist, publication, date, name or subject). The database gives access to cartoon images and catalogue information. For publication purposes, digital images with supporting copyright details can be ordered through the feedback section of the website.

British Library Sounds offers selections of music, spoken word and environmental sounds from the British Library Sound Archive available online to UK Higher and Further Education. There are currently 50,000 recordings available.

Highlights include in-depth oral history interviews, pre-1957 classical music recordings, ethnomusicological field recordings, accents and dialects, whildlife sounds, radio programmes, public debates, and early recordings originally captured on wax cylinders. Archival Sound Recordings offers a broad range of cross-disciplinary, primary source material for researchers. For teachers it provides engaging, thought-provoking material for lessons and a tool for teaching key skills to students of all levels.

Almost 2,000 key titles from the film collection acquired by the US Library of Congress from the collection's founder, Rick Prelinger. The ephemeral (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films from between 1927-1987 are public domain and made available under creative commons licence for free downloading and reuse.

1.5 million text records of historic monuments and of artefacts held in museums, galleries and archives, plus 100,000 related multimedia resources; video or sound clips, animations, graphics, plans, virtual reality objects and in particular, colour photographic images.

Access to the text records and thumbnail images is freely available. Access to full resources is available under licence only, the terms of which restrict use of the material for no profit, no proliferation use in education.

These collections display highlights of the resources of the University of Edinburgh Library, principally from within Special Collections. At present there are almost 12,000 images available.

Collections include: Hill and Adamson, the Salvsen Collection, Walter Scott Collection, Western Medieval Manuscripts, the Laing Collection, Oriental Manuscripts and Images from the School of Scottish Studies.

Provides business news and information together with Reuters Fundamentals and D&B company profiles. It contains more than 35,000 authoritative sources including The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Also includes most world press including UK national and regional press and trade magazines. Title coverage is different for each title but there is coverage from around the early 1980s onwards for some titles. Content by freelance writers, some features and supplements may not be available.

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. The resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields.

Access to over 23,000 UK and international news and business sources, financial and market reports, biographical data and thousands of legal and regulatory services. Includes Company Dossier which delivers company information on 100 million international companies and executives. Title coverage is different for each newspaper title but there is coverage from around the early 1980s onwards for some titles.

Database includes 3 million pages of 19th to 21st century British popular newspapers, from 1835 to current (updated daily). Titles include: Daily Mirror, Daily Express, Sunday Express, Daily Star, Church Times, The Watchman, Daily Worker, Morning Star and collections covering World Wars I & II by means of Fascist and Communist Political Press and a number of Regional Newspapers.

You can re-use this data in your own study, research, or teaching. Browse by title, region, data publisher or subject category

This includes Series 1 and 2 of a collection of digitised versions of key 19th century UK periodicals sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and other libraries.

Series 1: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humour and Leisure/Sport.
Series 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial.

This database contains over 1500 full-text periodicals published in between 1740 and 1940. Subjects cover history, literature, history of science and medicine, law, news and magazines, politics, religion, education, women’s studies, and art. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and ground-breaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

British Library Newspapers provides digital access to a vast and comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid eighteenth and mid twentieth centuries. Taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library, the more than 160 publications illuminate diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years. The Library has access to all 5 collections in this series, Parts I-V

Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

The database provides access to the full text of about a dozen English language newspapers published in China during the said period. It includes historical local, regional and national news on a wide range of issues of the day.

This archive includes nearly 1.2 million pages of content from the Daily Mail from its first issue in 1896 until 2004, including all of the major news stories, features, advertisements and images. The archive also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the transatlantic liners that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.

Search the full text of the newspapers’ historic content. Articles (including advertisements) are available as scanned PDFs both at article and page level.

Recent articles for both The Guardian and The Observer can be accessed via Factiva, Lexis Library or Nexis UK.

The Historical New York Times with Index from ProQuest provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
For access to current content see entry for New York Times.

Irish Newspaper Archives contains electronic versions of Irish newspapers from the 1700's to current day. Title list at https://www.irishnewsarchive.com/plist_static/

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Recent articles from The Irish TImes can be accessed via Factiva or Nexis UK.

Founded in 1897, The Japan Times is the oldest English-language newspaper in Japan. It has been published to promote mutual understandings between Japan and other countries. This newspaper Includes unique articles which cannot be read in Japanese-language newspapers. The Japan Times Archives provides full-text access to issues from March 1897 to December 2013. For access to current content see Japan Times Online.

This is the complete full-text and full-image archive of the most important newspaper of the Soviet era. Pravda (or "Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. The database is in Russian. For current material see entry for Pravda (2010 onwards).

Archive coverage of the Scotsman newspaper from 1817 until 1950. Search or browse the database which includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Recent articles from The Scotsman (1990s onwards) can be accessed via Factiva, Lexis Library or Nexis UK.

Service Newspapers of World War Two contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.

The database offers access to every complete page of every issue of The Times (London), including every headline, article, editorial, birth and death notice, and advertisement. The newspaper can be viewed either at the article or full-page level, and is searchable across all the 7.6 million articles.

More recent articles (1980s onwards) can be accessed via Factiva, Lexis Library and Nexis UK.

The Times of India is the world's largest circulation English daily newspaper. Founded in 1838 to serve the British residents of West India, The Times of India now circulates more than 4 million copies, covering almost 8 million Readers. The Times of India is particularly valuable for its coverage of key historical events in India, including the rise of Gandhi's Civil Disobediance movement, the 1947 Independence and Partition through to the landmark date of 1998 when Pakistan became a nuclear power. The Times of India provides exceptional depth to the study of colonial and post-colonial times, class and gender issues, religion, as well as international economics, international relations and cultural studies.

More recent articles from The Times of India can be accessed via Factiva or Nexis UK.

Database includes 3 million pages of 19th to 21st century British popular newspapers, from 1835 to current (updated daily). Titles include: Daily Mirror, Daily Express, Sunday Express, Daily Star, Church Times, The Watchman, Daily Worker, Morning Star and collections covering World Wars I & II by means of Fascist and Communist Political Press and a number of Regional Newspapers.

Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. More than 400,000 pages are included. Vogue is a unique record of international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history.