Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Library collections for Islam
Books relating to Islam will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check this on DiscoverEd. Here are some useful places to start browsing:
- Find books on Islam at shelfmark BP
- Find copies of the Qur’an at BP100
-
Find books on Islamic law/Shari’a law at shelfmark K
Books for Islam
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic e-books on Islam. These include:
Political Quietism in Islam by ISBN: 9781838607678
Qur'an of the oppressed : liberation theology and gender justice in Islam / by ISBN: 9780198796480
Muslims by
Andrew Rippin's Muslimsis essential reading for students and scholars alike. This new edition has been comprehensively updated and for the first time features a companion website with extensive links to additional reading and resources to help deepen students' understanding of the subject. Muslims offers a survey of Islamic history and thought from the formative period of the religion to modern times. It examines the unique elements which have combined to form Islam, in particular the Qur'ān and the influence of Muhammad, and traces the ways in which these sources have interacted historically to create Muslim theology and law as well as the alternative visions of Islam found in Shi'ism and Sufi sm. Combining core source materials with coverage of current scholarship and of recent events in the Islamic world, Andrew Rippin introduces this hugely significant religion in a succinct, challenging and refreshing way. The improved and expanded fourth edition contains a new chapter on perceptions of Muslims today as well as a new series of text boxes to stimulate students' thinking about essay topics and research projects. Using a distinctive critical approach that promotes engagement with key issues, from fundamentalism and women's rights to problems of identity, Islamophobia and modernity, this text is ideal for today's students.
ISBN: 9780203805213
The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an by
As the living scriptural heritage of more than a billion people, the Qur'an (Koran) speaks with a powerful voice. Just as other scriptural religions, Islam has produced a long tradition of interpretation for its holy book. Nevertheless, efforts to introduce the Qur'an and its intellectual heritage to English-speaking audiences have been hampered by the lack of available resources. The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an seeks to remedy that situation. In a discerning summation of the field, Jane McAuliffe brings together an international team of scholars to explain its complexities. Comprising fourteen chapters, each devoted to a topic of central importance, the book is rich in historical, linguistic and literary detail, while also reflecting the influence of other disciplines. For both the university student and the general reader, The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an provides a fascinating entrée to a text that has shaped the lives of millions for centuries.
ISBN: 9780521539340
Contemporary Issues in Islam by ISBN: 9780748632244
Heritage Collections
View of pages from the Mukhtasar Kitab al-Hisnul-Hasin, Or.Ms 172
The Heritage Collections teams preserve, provide access to and interpret the heritage collections looked after by the University.
They are based at Centre for Research Collections (CRC), which holds the Manuscripts of the Islamicate World and South Asia Collection, including Arabic manuscripts such as commentaries on the Koran; traditions of the Prophet and Imam and prayers.
All of these collections can be accessed at the CRC on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Find academic literature for Islam
- Christian-Muslim Relations vols 1 & 2Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History Online is a general history of relations between the two faiths as this is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other.
- Encyclopedia of IslamComprehensive reference work on the Islamic World. Articles cover distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities.
- Noorlib (Noor Digital Library)Noor Digital Library (Noorlib) is a full-text e-book database administered by the Computer Research Center of Islamic Sciences in Iran. It contains thousands of digitised book volumes from within the humanities, mostly in Arabic and Persian, with a particular focus on Islamic Studies.
- Oxford Bibliographies : IslamOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world.
- Twentieth-Century Religious Thought : IslamTwentieth Century Religious Thought: Islam provides an extensive research database focusing on modern Islamic theology and tradition.
Journals for Islam
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic journals in this area. These include:
- American Journal of Islam and SocietyCall Number: Online
- Islam and Christian Muslim RelationsCall Number: Online
- The Islamic quarterly : a review of Islamic cultureCall Number: Online
- Journal of Islamic StudiesCall Number: Online
- The Muslim WorldCall Number: Online
Highlights of the Library's Heritage Collections
Jami' al-Tawarikh (World History) by Rashid al-Din (d.1318)
Possibly the greatest treasure in the Library. It was written in the Naskh script by the scholar and courtier Rashid al-Din (d.1318) and contains 70 illustrated folios. Heritage Collections, Or.Ms.20. View the digital version here.
Al-Biruni's Chronology of Ancient Nations, Tabriz, Iran, 706 AH (AD 1307)
A chronicle of a vast number of calendars and chronological systems from a variety of different cultural and religious groups from throughout the late antique and medieval periods in the Hellenic world, Central Asia and the Near East. Heritage Collections, Or.Ms.161.
Sharh al-qism al-thalith min al-Miftah (AD 1423)
View of pages from Sharh al-qism al-thalith min al-Miftah showing text with notes in margins and between lines. Completed in c.1385-1386, Sharh al-Miftah is a commentary on the third book of Al-Sakkaki's popular rhetorical work, the Miftah al-ulum, and was written by the Persian polymath al-Taftazani.
Reference books for Islam
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic reference books, or browse the shelves in the library. These include:
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world by ISBN: 9780028662695
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an by ISBN: 9004114653
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures by
A unique collaboration of over 900 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures is set to become an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.This encyclopedia consists of six volumes (including an Index volume), published from 2003 to 2007.To download a preview, click here"
ISBN: 9789004132474
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics provides in-depth coverage of the political dimensions of Islam and the Muslim world. Developments in Muslim societies in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries have highlighted the need for a major reference work focusing primarily on these dimensions. The realization of internal decay and relentless quest for reform, the collapse of the Islamic caliphate, the fall of most parts of the Muslim world under western colonialism, the emergence of nation-states, the dominance of secular ideologies, the rise of Islamic revivalist movements and faith-based political, economic, and social alternatives, the confrontation between Islamic movements and secular inspired regimes have constituted major turning points in the contemporary history of Muslim societies. At no time has the understanding of the nature and implications of these developments been needed more. Based on the highly acclaimed 2009 publication, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics brings together over 400 new and updated entries to create a single, specialized reference source on this important topic.
ISBN: 9780199739356
Data sources
- Finding data : Research Data ServiceFind data freely available on the internet or through University of Edinburgh subscriptions.
- World Christian DatabaseThe World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.
- World Religion DatabaseThe World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.