Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Books relating to History of Christianity will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check this on DiscoverEd. However, classmarks BR for Christianity and BX for Christian Denominations might be useful places to browse.
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic History of Christianity books. These include:
Antiquity and Enlightenment Culture by 
Justin Martyr and His Worlds by 
John Knox by 
Abandoning America by 
Providence and Empire by 
The Hallowing of Logic by 
The Heritage Collections teams preserve, provide access to and interpret the heritage collections looked after by the University.
The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's heritage collections including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.
The CRC is located on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic History of Christianity journals. These include:
New College Library holds an outstanding collection of early theological books and archives. The collections cover patristics, hagiography, Reformation writers including Calvin and Knox, eighteenth century Seceders e.g. Ebenezer & Ralph Erskine, the nineteenth century Church in Scotland, Westminster Confessions and Hymnology. From collections of the very earliest printed books, incunabula, to substantial collections of around 35,000 16th-20th century pamphlets New College Library has a huge range of source materials for original research in ecclesiastical history. The New College Archives have a substantial collection of the papers of Thomas Chalmers, a very significant figure in the nineteenth century Scottish church.
To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Ecclesiastical history reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library Hall. These include:
The Cambridge History of Christianity
The New Cambridge History of the Bible
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by 
The Dictionary of Scottish Church History and Theology by 
