Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Library collections for Judaism
Books relating to Judaism will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check this on DiscoverEd. However, you will find classmark BM a useful place to start browsing.
Books for Judaism
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Judaism e-books. These include:
The Cambridge Guide to Jewish History, Religion, and Culture by
The Cambridge Guide to Jewish History, Religion, and Culture is a comprehensive and engaging overview of Jewish life, from its origins in the ancient Near East to its impact on contemporary popular culture. The twenty-one essays, arranged historically and thematically, and written specially for this volume by leading scholars, examine the development of Judaism and the evolution of Jewish history and culture over many centuries and in a range of locales. They emphasize the ongoing diversity and creativity of the Jewish experience. Unlike previous anthologies, which concentrate on elite groups and expressions of a male-oriented rabbinic culture, this volume also includes the range of experiences of ordinary people and looks at the lives and achievements of women in every place and era. The many illustrations, maps, timeline, and glossary of important terms enhance this book's accessibility to students and general readers.
ISBN: 0521689740
The Jew in the Modern World by
The last two centuries have witnessed a radical transformation of Jewish life. Marked by such profound events as the emancipation from the ghettoes of Europe, the Holocaust and the establishment of the State of Israel, Judaism's long journey through the modern age has been a complex and tumultuous one, leading many Jews to ask themselves not only where they have been and where they are going, but what it means to be a Jew in today's world. Tracing the dramatic changes in Jewish religion, culture, and identity from the seventeenth century to 1948, The Jew in the Modern World, Third Edition, remains the most complete sourcebook on modern Jewish history available. Now thoroughly expanded and updated, this critically acclaimed volume of primary materials features previously unpublished and inaccessible sources concerning the Jewish experience in Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa; women in Jewish history; American Jewish life; the Holocaust; and Zionism and the nascent Jewish community in Palestine on the eve of the establishment of the State of Israel. The documents are arranged chronologically in each chapter and are meticulously and extensively annotated and cross-referenced. Providing useful tables detailing Jewish demographic trends, this unique text is ideal for courses in modern Jewish history, Zionism and Israel, the Holocaust, or modern European history.
ISBN: 9780195389067
Sources for studying the Holocaust : a guide by ISBN: 9781003248620
Digital Text Collections
- Cambridge Digital Library (Hebrew Manuscripts) High-quality images of halakhic, liturgical, poetic, and philosophical manuscripts.
- Sefaria.org "...a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation." Contains Hebrew text and many English translations of the Tanakh, Mishnah, Talmud, Midrash, etc.
Find academic literature for Judaism
- Oxford Bibliographies for Jewish StudiesDeveloped cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
- Prosecuting the Holocaust: British investigations into Nazi war crimes, 1944-1949Drawn from The National Archives (UK) and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, this collection contains a wealth of digitised documents regarding the British government's efforts to investigate and prosecute Nazi crimes during the period 1944-1949. The evidence gathered sheds light on almost every aspect of the Holocaust and includes victim testimonies.
- Religion Past & PresentReligion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG) which aims to be the definitive encyclopedia of subjects connected with religion.
- Twentieth-Century Religious Thought : JudaismA digital collection of unpublished primary sources and difficult-to-find texts and authors to support of scholars and students of Judaism and Religious Studies. The content includes the themes of Jewish Mysticism, Rabbinic Judaism, Midrash, Talmud, Jewish Law and Ethics, Holocaust Studies, Jewish Identity and Zionism
Journals for Judaism
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Judaism journals. These include:
- Holocaust StudiesCall Number: Online
- Journal of Modern Jewish StudiesCall Number: Online
- Journal of Jewish StudiesCall Number: Online
- The Journal of Progressive JudaismCall Number: Online
- Modern Judaism : a journal of Jewish ideas and experienceCall Number: Online
New College Library Heritage Collections for Judaism
New College Library holds Jewish sacred texts, biblical scholarship and devotional works in Hebrew as well as many examples of travel writing from Israel, Palestine and surrounding areas, collected by nineteenth century travellers such as William Fulton Jackson. The New College Library archives hold the papers of several Old Testament and Hebrew and Semitic Languages scholars.
To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk
Reference books for Judaism
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Judaism reference books, or browse the shelves in the New College Library. These include:
Encyclopedia Judaica by ISBN: 0028659287
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics by
The Hebrew language has one of the longest attested histories of any of the world's languages, with records of its use from antiquity until modern times. Although it ceased to be a spoken language by the 2nd century C.E., Hebrew continued to be used and to develop in the form of a literary and liturgical language until its revival as a vernacular in the 20th century. In a four volume set, complete with index, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. The encyclopedia contains overview articles that provide a readable synopsis of current knowledge of the major periods and varieties of the Hebrew language as well as thematically-organized entries which provide further information on individual topics, such as the Hebrew of various sources (texts, manuscripts, inscriptions, reading traditions), major grammatical features (phonology, morphology, and syntax), lexicon, script and paleography, theoretical linguistic approaches, and so forth. With over 950 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields. The online version of the EHLL can be found here.
ISBN: 9789004176423
Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature by
Whether it's a novel, memoir, diary, poem, or drama, a common thread runs through the literature of the Nazi Holocaust--a motif of personal testimony to the dearness of humanity. With that perspective the expert authors of Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature undertake profiling 128 of the most influential first generation authors who either survived, perished, or were closely connected to the Holocaust. Arranged alphabetically by author, all of the entries answer the same basic questions about the author and his or her work: What is the nature of the author's literary response to the Holocaust? What is his or her place in Holocaust literature? What does the author's work contribute to an understanding of the Holocaust? What is distinctive about the author's work? What are some key moments in the author's life? What issues does the author's work pose for the reader? To address these questions, the entries are generally organized into three primary divisions: (1) an opening section on why the author's work has a significant or distinctive place in Holocaust literature, (2) a second section containing information on the author's biography, and (3) a critical examination of the highlights of the author's work. In most cases, the third section is the longest, since the focus of the encyclopedia is the literature, not the author. The Encyclopedia is intended for all students and teachers of the Holocaust, regardless of their levels of learning. Avenues for further research are incorporated at the conclusion of each entry and in a comprehensive bibliography of primary works of Holocaust literature and a second bibliography of critical studies of Holocaust literature.
ISBN: 1573562572
Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Brill Academic Publishers, in collaboration with The Museum of Jewish Heritage (New York) and Continuum (New York) proudly presents "The Encyclopaedia of Judaism, published in Fall 1999. This carefully crafted, three-volume work includes every topic necessary to systematically describe the Jewish faith in all its complexity and wonder. Comprehensive and up-to-date, it reflects the highest standards in scholarship. "The Encyclopaedia of Judaism is presented in an informative, yet readable style intended for a wide-range of reading interests. Covering a tradition of nearly four thousand years, some of the most distinguished scholars in the field describe the way of life, history, art, theology, philosophy, and the practices and beliefs of the Jewish people. Consulting Editors: David Altshuler, Museum of Jewish Heritage, New York Judith Baskin State, University of New York Herbert W. Basser, Queens Universty Robert Berchman, Dowling College Chaim Bermant, Z"L DanielBreslauer, University of Kansas Allan Brockway, University of South Florida Michael Broyde, Emory University Robert Chazan, New York University Bruce D. Chilton, Bard College Philip Davies, University of Sheffield Daniel J. Elazar, Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs Seymour Feldman, Rugers University Simcha Fishbane, Touro College Paul Flesher, University of Wyoming Zev Garber, Los Angeles Valley College Neil Gillman, Jewish Theological Seminary Lisa Goldberg, Charles H. Revson Foundation Lester Graabe, University of Hull Mayer Grubre, Ben Gurion University Maurice-Ruben Hayoun, University of Strasbourg and Hochschule f r Judische Studien, Heidelberg Lawrence Hoffman, Hebrew Union College Karl-Johan Illman, Abo Akademi Dana
ISBN: 9004105832
Data sources
- Finding data : Research Data ServiceFind data freely available on the internet or through University of Edinburgh subscriptions.
- World Religion DatabaseThe World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.