Welcome to the Classics subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
This Library Services page will be kept up to date with information about access to the library collections, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.
The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic, cultural and heritage collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives (LHSA), University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and a wide range of other museum objects from geological specimens to anatomical models.
The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Image on right is a Papyrus fragment, Aratus, Diosemeia, 2nd century AD. © University of Edinburgh
The Classics Teaching Collection is housed within the School of History, Classics and Archaeology (William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School). The teaching collection includes Greek and Roman pottery, a gallery of casts, and a large collection of photographic slides which are used to illustrate its teaching in Classical Art and Archaeology. The collection represents a wide variety of both chronological and geographical range: from prehistoric Egypt, Cyprus and Mycenaean Greece to Early Archaic, Classical Greece and the Roman era. A number of items from this collection are on display in the William Robertson Wing.
Cypriot White Slip Ware, late Bronze Age. © University of Edinburgh
The Main Library holds the majority of books for Classics. Most of these books are on the 2nd floor or in the HUB Collection on the ground floor.
The following Main Library tour was created prior to the Covid-19 pandemic and is still very useful for finding out what resources, services and facilities are available in the Main Library and familiarising yourself with the building. However, due to the Covid-19 pandemic there are changes to access to the building and availability of physical resources, services and facilities. Make sure you check the Library Services Update website for full information and to keep up-to-date with current situation.
Find your course reading lists via Resource Lists. Type in your course code or keywords from the course title, or your lecturer's name.
Please note that not all courses at the University use Resource Lists.
The Library provides access to 100s of 1000s of online resources, including e-books, e-journals and online databases, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online learning programmes.
Follow HCA Librarian blog or on Twitter to keep up to date with Library news related to History, Classics and Archaeology.
Follow the Library on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram or blog to keep up to date with Library news, services, resources and support for the entire University.