Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Classics

Welcome to the Classics subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Information about Library & University Collections services in response to COVID-19

This page contains current information on library closures, loans and fines, support for online learning, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Search Library Resources

 
Use DiscoverEd to search the Library's collections and find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use your University Login to sign into your account and manage loans, requests and fines. 

Key databases for Classics


Cultural and heritage collections

The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic, cultural and heritage collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives (LHSA), University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and a wide range of other museum objects from geological specimens to anatomical models.

  • 400,000 rare books
  • Over 6km of manuscripts and archives
  • Around 200,000 artefacts, works of art, potted material, models, specimens, musical instruments and scientific apparatus
  • Over 40,000 digital images
  • Around 25,000 PhD theses available digitally

The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.

Image on right is a Papyrus fragment, Aratus, Diosemeia, 2nd century AD. © University of Edinburgh

The Classics Teaching Collection is housed within the School of History, Classics and Archaeology (William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School). The teaching collection includes Greek and Roman pottery, a gallery of casts, and a large collection of photographic slides which are used to illustrate its teaching in Classical Art and Archaeology. The collection represents a wide variety of both chronological and geographical range: from prehistoric Egypt, Cyprus and Mycenaean Greece to Early Archaic, Classical Greece and the Roman era. A number of items from this collection are on display in the William Robertson Wing.

Cypriot White Slip Ware, late Bronze Age. © University of Edinburgh

Main Library

The Main Library holds the majority of books for History. Most of these books are on the 2nd floor or in the HUB Collection on the ground floor.

Resource Lists

Find your course reading lists via Resource Lists. Type in your course code or keywords from the course title, or your lecturer's name.

Please note that not all courses at the University use Resource Lists. 

Exam Papers

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

Your Academic Support Librarian

Caroline Stirling's picture
Caroline Stirling
Contact:
Argyle House (Floor F East)
3 Lady Lawson Street
Edinburgh EH3 9DR
Website

Online learning

The Library provides access to 100s of 1000s of online resources, including e-books, e-journals and online databases, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online learning programmes.

Keep up to date

Follow HCA Librarian blog or on Twitter to keep up to date with Library news related to History, Classics and Archaeology.

Follow the Library on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram or blog to keep up to date with Library news, services, resources and support for the entire University.