The Church in Scotland
Guide to resources for study and research into Christian denominations in Scotland
Episcopal Church of Scotland
Library resources relating to the Episcopal Church of Scotland will be found throughout in New College Library and also in the Main Library – check DiscoverEd.
Try browsing in :
- BR (Christianity)
- BT (Doctrinal Theology)
- BV (Practical Theology)
- BX (Christian denominations) especially BX 5210-5395 (Episcopal Church in Scotland)
Books for Episcopal Church of Scotland
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic books. These include:
Episcopalianism in Nineteenth-Century Scotland by
Rowan Strong examines the history of Scottish Episcopalianism in the nineteenth century as a response to the new urbanizing and industrializing society of the time. In particular, he looks at the various Episcopalian sub-cultures which had to come to terms with these social and economic changes. These sub-cultures include Highland Gaels; North-East crofters, farmers and fisherfolk; urban Episcopalians; aristocratic Episcopalians; and Evangelicals and Anglo-Catholics. He provides also an outline of the history of Episcopalianism in Scotland from the sixteenth century to 1900, Rowan Strong addresses the issue of Episcopalianism and Scottish identity, which is topical today.
ISBN: 0199249229
Scottish Liturgical Traditions and Religious Politics by ISBN: 1474483054
The Oxford Handbook of Anglican Studies by
The Anglican Communion is the third largest Christian denomination and claims a membership of some 80 million members in about 164 countries. Given that there are only around two hundred countries in the world, this makes the churches of the Anglican Communion the most geographically widespread denomination after Roman Catholicism. The 44 essays in this volume embrace a wide range of academic disciplines: theological; historical; demography and geography; and different aspects of culture and ethics. They are united in their discussion of what is effectively a new inter-disciplinary subject which we have termed "Anglican Studies." At the core of this volume is the phenomenon of "Anglicanism" as this is expressed in different places and in a variety of ways across the world. This Handbook covers a far broader set of topics from a wider range of perspectives than has been hitherto attempted in Anglican Studies. At the same time, it doesn't impose a particular theological or historical agenda. The contributions are drawn from across the spectrum of theological views and opinions. It shows that the unsettled nature of the polity is part of its own rich history; and many will see this as a somewhat lustrous tradition. In its comprehensive coverage, this volume is a valuable contribution to Anglican Studies and helps formulate a discipline that might perhaps promote dialogue and discussion across the Anglican world.
ISBN: 0199218560
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to the Anglican Communion by
This uniquely comprehensive reference work provides a global account of the history, expansion, diversity, and contemporary issues facing the Anglican Communion, the worldwide body that includes all followers of the Anglican faith. An insightful and wide-ranging treatment of this dynamic global faith, offering unrivalled coverage of its historical development, and the religious and ethical questions affecting the church today Explores every aspect of this vibrant religious community - from analyzing its instruments of Unity, to its central role in interfaith communication Spans the Anglican Communion's long history through to 21st century debates within the church on such issues as sexual-orientation of clergy, and the pastoral role of women Features a substantial articles on the Church's 44 provinces, including a brief history of each Brings together a distinguished and international team of contributors, including some of the world's leading Anglican commentators
ISBN: 9781118320860
Heritage Collections at the University of Edinburgh
Book of Hours, MS 44 f.107r
The Heritage Collections teams preserve, provide access to and interpret the heritage collections looked after by the University.
The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's heritage collections including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.
The CRC is located on the 6th floor, Main Library.
The General Synod of the Scottish Episcopal Church annual report ...
- Minutes and papers of the General Synod (2014-)Since 2014 Episcopal Church of Scotland General Synod reports have been freely available online
- The General Synod of the Scottish Episcopal Church annual reportCall Number: Per E
Finding academic literature for Episcopal Church of Scotland
- Atla Religion database with ATLA serialsA comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship including the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought - ChristianityTwentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.
- Theology & Religion OnlineIncludes over 250 e-book titles from T&T Clark in the Theology Library, Jesus Library, and Library of Catholic Thought
Journals for Episcopal Church of Scotland
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Theology & Ethics journals. These include:
- Scottish Journal of TheologyCall Number: Per C
- Scottish Episcopal Church ReviewCall Number: Per S
- Anglican and Episcopal HistoryCall Number: Online
- Journal of Anglican StudiesCall Number: Online
New College Library Special Collections for Episcopal Church of Scotland
New College Library holds an outstanding collection of early theological books and archives. The collections cover patristics, hagiography, Reformation writers including Calvin and Knox, eighteenth century Seceders e.g. Ebenezer & Ralph Erskine, the nineteenth century Church in Scotland, Westminster Confessions and Hymnology. The New College Library archives hold the papers of several twentieth century theologians including J.H. Oldham. To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk
Reference books for Episcopal Church of Scotland
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic reference books, or browse the shelves in New College Library. These include:
Scottish Episcopal Clergy 1689-2000 by
The product of years of original research, this is an invaluable and fascinating work of history and current reference for anyone with an interest in Scottish church affairs and in the Scottish Episcopal Church in particular.
Call Number: (REFERENCE) ; Ref. BX5390 Ber.ISBN: 0567087468
Crockford's Clerical directory : a directory of the clergy of the Church of England, the Church in Wales, the Scottish Episcopal Church, the Church of Ireland.Call Number: (REFERENCE) ; Ref. BX5031 Cro.- LiturgiesCall Number: OnlineDownload versions of authorised liturgies including Calendar and Lectionary.
Digital text collections
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae First time users will be asked to register. Subsequent access requires both the University network access and the login you created. The register/login link is located at the top right corner of the TLG website.