The Church in Scotland
Guide to resources for study and research into Christian denominations in Scotland
Researching the Church in Scotland
Edinburgh University Library and New College Library have a unique history as a library supporting ministry training for the Church of Scotland and the Free Church of Scotland. This guide highlights some key resources for the study and research of the Church in Scotland.
Home | The Catholic Church in Scotland | The Church of Scotland | The Episcopal Church of Scotland | The Free Church of Scotland | Ecumenical dialogue | More denominations |
Your Academic Support Librarian
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.
DiscoverEd
DiscoverEd Help FAQs
Other Subject Guides
Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website.
Follow the New College Library blog
- New College Library blogBlogging on library news, resources, services and skills for staff & students in the School of Divinity. Find out more about New College Library's historic Special Collections.
New College Library
Founded in 1843 as the library of the Free Church College, New College Library now serves the University's School of Divinity and the wider University community. It is one of the largest theological libraries in the UK. For all general enquiries about New College Library, please email : IS.Helpdesk@ed.ac.uk
New College Library Special Collections
New College Library Special Collections include manuscripts and archives, rare books, theses, photographs, and objects. The collections relate to New College, the School of Divinity at the University of Edinburgh, and the religious life of Scotland and the wider world.
The new Funk Reading Room supports access to New College Library Special Collections. All research visits require an appointment. To arrange to consult New College Special Collections and archives, please email: HeritageCollections@ed.ac.uk.