Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Divinity

Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Your Academic Support Librarian

Christine Love-Rodgers's picture
Christine Love-Rodgers
Contact:
3 Lady Lawson St, Edinburgh
EH3 9DR
0131 6515214
Website

Follow @cloverodgers

E-resources trials

The Library regularly arranges trials to new resources, including databases. It's always worthwhile checking the list of current trials as there could be something available for a short period that is just what you are looking for. 

Search Library Resources

Use DiscoverEd to search the Library's collections and find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use EASE to sign into your account and manage loans, requests and fines.

New College Library is moving in 2020

A major Estates project means that we must move the New College Library collections and services.

What this means for you

      New College Library (NCL) will close at 5.00 pm on Friday 20st December 2019, and re-open at David Hume Tower (DHT) on 13th January 2020, providing access to General Collections.

      Archive material and some Special Collections (selected in consultation with the School of Divinity) will be available at the Centre for Research Collections at the Main Library in George Square. Remaining Special Collections will be unavailable until the Library returns to New College in Summer 2021.

      The School of Divinity are planning to make the NCL Reserve Collection available in the Semple’s Close Wing of New College from 13th January 2020.

General Collections

  • New College Library General Collections includes books on course reading lists as well as journals, which are currently on open access.
  • General Collections will be fully available at New College Library at DHT by the end of January
  • All current New College Library services will be available and there will be no changes to current opening hours.
  • Students will have access to equivalent study space at DHT, as well as access to study space in the Rainy Hall

Special Collections

  • New College Library Special Collections include archives, manuscripts, historic printed books and objects, which are currently all kept in closed access areas.
  • New College Library Special Collections transferred to the Centre for Research Collections (CRC) will benefit from CRC services including enquiry support, copying and digitisation. Teaching rooms and curatorial support are available at the CRC to support seminars and lectures using New College Library Special Collections. New College Special Collections which are not available at the CRC will be moved into storage off site. They will not be accessible until the library collections return to New College Library in summer 2021. 

Key Databases for Divinity

Getting help

Are you feeling disheartened by your dissertation research? Not liking your literature review? You can contact me directly to book a 1:2:1 session in person, phone or online via Collaborate. We can look at the sources you have searched, and identify sources you may not have searched and talk about tips and tools to carry out a controlled and productive literature search.

If you need to contact us for help with any Library service please get in touch with the IS Helpdesk. There is also a copyright service for related enquiries and an online form if you would like to make a comment, complaint or suggestion.

Follow the New College Library blog

School of Divinity

Course resource lists

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to search for academic resources including journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, books and theses.

Referencing