New resources - CAHSS
This guide aims to highlight new library digital resources that have been purchased or subscribed to support the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Science (CAHSS).
New Library resources for LLC
This page highlights new larger digital items and subscriptions acquired in 2020/21 which were requested by, or are relevant to, the School of Literature, Languages and Cultures (LLC).
The Academic Support Librarian for LLC is Shenxiao Tong.
The Academic Library Representative for LLC in 2021/2022 is
We work in partnership with the CAHSS College Library & Information Strategy Committee.
New databases
-
Chinese Periodicals Full-text Database (1911-1949), Series 10We have added Series 10 to our already purchased collection of Series 1-9 of Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949). Series 10 consists of 3013 Chinese periodical titles of this period.
-
History of FeminismCovers the subject of feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928) and contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources in education, literature, politics, law, religion, society and culture.
-
Le Monde Historical Archive (1944-2000)Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde reveals the day-to-day news coverage valued by researchers.
-
Qur'an Gateway
IMPORTANT NOTE: THIS DATABASE WILL CEASE OPERATION AS OF 30 NOV 2021. PLEASE MAKE USE OF IT BEFORE THEN!
Qur’an Gateway is a digital tool for the critical study of the Qurʾanic text and its early manuscripts. Based on the latest academic research, the tool allows you to explore and analyse data from thousands of records. Features include the ability to examine linguistics and formulaic construction, track scribal changes from hundreds of original manuscripts, check meanings and references from the original Arabic and much more. Use UoE VPN for off campus access. -
South Asia ArchiveThe South Asia Archive is a specialist digital platform providing global electronic access to culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within, and about, the South Asian region. Contains millions of pages of digitized primary and secondary material in a mix of English and vernacular languages dating back to the start of the 18th Century, up to the mid-20th Century. Contains Journals, Reports, Books, Legislation documents and Indian Film Booklets.
ProQuest Access 350
Did you know the Library has access to almost all available ProQuest primary source databases until 31 December 2021?
These databases allow you to explore 600 years worth of world history and, along with the wide and varied range of digital primary source databases the Library already gives you access to, can help enrich your learning, teaching and research.
Find out more about ProQuest Access 350
New e-book collections
-
Books of Modern China（1840～1949）Digital archive from Shanghai Library collections of over 120,000 books published in China between 1840-1949, covering the following categories: politics, economics, law, literature, lifestyle, contemporary biographies, children’s books, school textbooks, as well as communist publications.
-
Complete Works & Correspondence of Frances Burney [digital] - Oxford Scholarly Editions OnlineThe works of Frances (Fanny) Burney, from her first poem (1763–4) to her last letter in 1839.
-
Oberon Books CollectionThis is an addition to our current Drama Online subscription. Oberon Books has long been recognised as one of the most exciting publishers specialising in drama and the performing arts, with a reputation for publishing challenging and compelling works. From ground-breaking British plays to the best of international drama and plays in translation, this is a unique and inspiring collection of over 500 titles that features a diverse gathering of canonical and contemporary drama.
-
Persian E-Books Miras MaktoobThe Miras Maktoob Persian e-book collection consists of 249 volumes (189 works) originally published by the Written Heritage Research Institute (Miras Maktoob), a non-governmental organisation in Tehran. These e-books, which are exclusively available from Brill, include works in both Persian and Arabic on Islamic history and culture in the broadest sense.
-
Oxford Scholarly Editions - Romantics Poetry26 titles of e-books, including poetic works of Anna Letitia Barbauld, William Blake, Lord Byron, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Sara Coleridge, James Hogg, Amelia Alderson Opie, and William Wordsworth.
-
Oxford Scholarly Editions - 19th Century Poetry29 titles of e-books, including poetic works of William Barnes, Ambrose Bierce, Emily Brontë, Robert Browning, Arthur Hugh Clough, Thomas Hardy, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Arthur Symons, Alfred Tennyson, Henry Timrod, Jones Very, and John Greenleaf Whittier.
Centre for Research Collections New Acquisitions Highlight
Collection of c. 30 items of correspondence from and relating to Hugh MacDiarmid and the publication of Stony Limits (London: Gollancz. 1934), 1934-1986; Coll-2005
This correspondence between MacDiarmid and the Leftist publishing house Gollancz charts the rocky path to publication of Stony Limits and Other Poems (1934). It includes letters from Gollancz’s solicitor Victor Rubinstein arguing that some poems might lead to prosecution under libel, obscenity, and (less probably) blasphemy laws. These prompt a 5-page response from MacDiarmid, rebutting Rubinstein’s arguments and defending his work. It was nonetheless a battle that MacDiarmid lost. The two riskiest pieces were excluded and replaced with poems of MacDiarmid’s own choice. This collection complements our extensive Grieve Archive of incoming MacDiarmid correspondence (Coll-18), which contains letters from Castle Wynd publishers who brought out an unexpurgated Stony Limits in 1956. The correspondence is now being used as part of a course on literary censorship illustrated by CRC materials. Its importance for MacDiarmid scholarship is evidenced by the presence of letters to Gollancz by MacDiarmid specialists Alan Bold and W. N. Herbert asking why the offending poems were omitted.
Library subject guides for Literature, Languages and Cultures
You can explore the Library Subject Guides to find out about the full range of library resources available for Literatures, Languages and Cultures