This guide provides a general introduction to library and information resources for all those studying, teaching and researching on topics relating to the literatures, languages and cultures of the Middle East.
The web link below takes you to the up-to-date information about access to the Library collections, facilities and services, and how to get further help.
The University Library holds extensive collections of primary and secondary sources pertaining to the study of the Middle East and the Islam, ranging from monographs, journals, newspapers and manuscripts to reference and audio-visual materials. These materials can be in physical formats (e.g. printed, microfilm, DVD) and/or electronic formats (e.g. e-books, e-journals, film streaming).
Collection locations:
Search the Collections:
For detailed information on Library collections for Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies, see the Collections,Oriental Manuscripts, and Databases sections of this guide.
Use DiscoverEd to search for books, journals, journal articles, DVDs and other physical and electronic items. Use your University Login to sign into your account and manage loans and requests.
Use Resource Lists to find your course reading lists. Lookup reading lists by list title, course title, course code, course instructors. Use the 'Subject' dropdown selection list to browse all the Resource Lists in your subject area such as 'English Literature' (displaying only the first 100 matching lists).
Please note that not all the courses at the University use Resource Lists.
If the library does not have what you want then there are several ways of getting access to the material:
Conveniently located within ten minutes' walk of the University's Main Library, the National Library of Scotland (NLS) holds huge collections of primary and secondary source matierials on all subject areas.
This allows you to request material either held at distant university library sites including the University Collections Facility, or material not held by the university.
If you are unable to find the book that you need for your studies then use the Student Request a Book (RaB) service to recommend a purchase.
It may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library in the UK to get access to the item you require. Some reciprocal schemes and agreements allow our staff and students access to some other libraries.
LLC Library Newsletter
Possibly the greatest treasure in the Library. It was written in the Naskh script by the scholar and courtier Rashid al-Din (d.1318) and contains 70 illustrated folios. Special Collections, Or.Ms.20. View the digital version here.
A chronicle of a vast number of calendars and chronological systems from a variety of different cultural and religious groups from throughout the late antique and medieval periods in the Hellenic world, Central Asia and the Near East. Special Collections, Or.Ms.161.
View of pages from Sharh al-qism al-thalith min al-Miftah showing text with notes in margins and between lines. Completed in c.1385-1386, Sharh al-Miftah is a commentary on the third book of Al-Sakkaki's popular rhetorical work, the Miftah al-ulum, and was written by the Persian polymath al-Taftazani.
