Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies
This guide provides a general introduction to library and information resources for those studying, teaching and researching on topics relating to the literatures, languages and cultures of the Middle East.
Dictionaries
- Cambridge English-Arabic DictionaryCall Number: Freely available online
- Cambridge English-Turkish DictionaryCall Number: Freely available online
- Historical dictionary of prophets in Islam and Judaism byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9780810843059Publication Date: 2002
Reference resources on the internet
- Hazine A repository of reference resources and library guides for researchers working on the Middle East, North Africa, and Islamicate societies.
- Library of Congress Romantization Tables Including Arabic, Persian, Hebrew, etc.
Encyclopedias, bibliographies, handbooks
- Encyclopaedia Iranica byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 2nd floor Ref. DS253 Enc.ISBN: 0710090900Publication Date: 1982-[2003]15 volumes.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936) The Encyclopaedia of Islam First Edition Online (EI1) was originally published in print between 1913 and 1936. The demand for an encyclopaedic work on Islam was created by the increasing (colonial) interest in Muslims and Islamic cultures during the nineteenth century. The scope of the Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online is philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century. Such famous scholars as Houtsma, Wensinck, Gibb, Snouck Hurgronje, and Lévi-Provençal were involved in this scholarly endeavor. The Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online offers access to 9,000 articles.Call Number: Online access
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.Call Number: Online access
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms Glossary and Index of Terms treats the technical terms in Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Urdu and other languages or dialects of the Islamic world. As an index, it is of immeasurable importance, in particular for the many terms which are not given an entry but are discussed in the course of an article; and as glossary it is an invaluable source of information for both non-specialist, who is given an insight into the varied and rich vocabulary of Islam, and the specialist, who may discover surprising new contexts in which a term is used.Call Number: Online access
- Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE by The third edition of Brill’s Encyclopaedia of Islam which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. It is published in five substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.Call Number: Online access
- Farhang-i dihʹhā-yi Īrān : shināsāʾī-i ʻumūmī byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 4th floor F .91(55)03 Mim.Publication Date: 1369- [1990-]
- Historical Atlas of Islam byCall Number: Online access
- Iran today : an encyclopedia of life in the Islamic Republic byCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 2nd floor DS253 Ira.ISBN: 9780313341618Publication Date: 20082 volumes
- The Kurds in Iran : a selected and annotated bibliography byCall Number: Main Library (REFERENCE) - 3rd floor Ref. Z3369.K87 Beh.ISBN: 3794070070Publication Date: 1977
- A selective bibliography of Islam and Iran : 1950-1987 byCall Number: Main Library Closed Stack Ref. .297(55)016 Sel.Publication Date: 1989
- World Literature and Its Times : Profiles of Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them Vol. 6 Middle Eastern Literatures and Their Times byCall Number: Online accessISBN: 9781414435794Publication Date: 2004
- ايرانشهر./ ĪrānshahrCall Number: Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 4th floor F .89155:.9(55) Teh.Publication Date: 1963-19642 volumes.
