Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Islamic Art & Architecture

A guide to library resources and open access external sites useful for the study of Islamic art and architecture.

Information about Library & University Collections services in response to COVID-19

This page contains current information on library closures, loans and fines, support for online learning, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Academic Support Librarian for ECA

New! Exams and Revision Guide

The Academic Support Librarian team have created a new Libguide giving advice and guidance on resources for all students preparing for exams and busy with revision. You can go to it here: https://edinburgh-uk.libguides.com/exams

Libraries for Islamic Art & Architecture

Keep up-to-date with the Library!

Key texts

Please also refer to your course’s online Resource List on Learn. The following are key texts, not a complete comprehensive reading list:

Bearman, P.J. (2009) Encyclopaedia of Islam, Leiden: Brill.

Benoît, J., (2012) Islamic Art and the Museum: Approaches to Art and Archaeology of the Muslim World in the twenty-first century, London: Saqi

Brice, W.C. (1981) An Historical Atlas of Islam, Leiden: Brill.

Blair, S.S. and Bloom, J. (1994) The Art and Architecture of Islam 1250-1800, Conn.: Yale University Press.

Bloom, J. and Blair, S.S. Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture (3 vols.) (2009) Oxford: OUP.

Carey, M., (2014) The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, London: Lorenz.

Ettinghausen, R. and Grabar, O. and Jenkins, M. (2001) Islamic Art and Architecture 650-1250, 2nd edn. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press.

Flood, F.B. and Necipoğlu, G. (2017) A Companion to Islamic Art and Architecture, Hoboken, NJ: Wiley Blackwell.

Grove Dictionary of Art: see Oxford Art Online, at the A-Z of databases, and also via DiscoverEd.

Grabar, O. (1987) The Formation of Islamic Art, Rev. and enl. edn. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Hillenbrand, R. (1994) Islamic Architecture: Form, Function and Meaning, New York: Columbia University Press.

Hillenbrand, R. (1999) Islamic Art and Architecture, London: Thames and Hudson.

Milwright, M. (2010) An Introduction to Islamic Archaeology, Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press.

Milwright, M. (2017) Islamic Arts and Crafts: An Anthology, Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press.

Petersen, A. (1996) Dictionary of Islamic Architecture, London: Routledge. [also searchable online through Archnet]

Ruggles, D.F. (2011) Islamic Art and Visual Culture: An Anthology of Sources, Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell.

Vernoit, S. (2000) Discovering Islamic Art: Scholars, Collectors and Collections, 1850-1950, London: I.B. Tauris.

Key journals and journal databases

Key journals held by the University of Edinburgh Libraries:

  • Muqarnas
  • Ars Orientalis
  • al-Masaq: Islam and the medieval Mediterranean

Key journal article databases subscribed to by the University of Edinburgh libraries:

Index Islamicus

This database is listed on the A-Z of library databases and is also listed on DiscoverEd.

For the complete list of history of art related databases please click here

Internet resources for Islamic Art & Architecture

ArchNet http://archnet.org/

Archnet, based at MIT, is a global open access multimedia library on the built environment of Muslim societies.

Encyclopaedia Iranica http://www.iranicaonline.org/

The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Guide to Research in Islamic Art & Architecture (Harvard University):

https://guides.library.harvard.edu/c.php?g=310220&p=3702878

Islamic Art Historiography, ed. by Moira Carey and Margaret S. Graves. Special issue of The Journal of Art Historiography 6 (June 2012)

https://arthistoriography.wordpress.com/number-6-june-2012-2/

Manar al-Athar http://www.manar-al-athar.ox.ac.uk/

The Manar al-Athar website, based at the University of Oxford, provides high resolution, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication.

Museum With No Frontiers: Discover Islamic Art in the Mediterranean Database & Exhibitions

http://islamicart.museumwnf.org/

DiscoverEd

Course resource lists

Referencing

Avoiding plagiarism

Looking for images?

Looking for theses and dissertations?

We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.