Race and Decolonial Studies
Welcome to the Race and Decolonial Studies Guide - giving you information on library resources and services relating to race, critical race studies and decolonial work.
Menu
Race Studies
In this section you will find resources relating to various aspects of race studies. Resources include books, journals, and databases.
Books for Race Studies
The Case for Rage: Why Anger Is Essential to Anti-Racist Struggle by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780197557358Publication Date: 2021
Encyclopedia of Black Studies by
The Encyclopedia of Black Studiesis the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research on the Black experience. The concept for the encyclopedia was developed from the successful Journal of Black Studies(SAGE) and contains a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent. This single-volume reference is the vanguard of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field. More than a chronicle of black culture or black people, this encyclopedia deals with the emergence and maturity of an intellectual field over the past four decades. Beginning with the protests at San Francisco State College in 1967 that led to the first degree-granting department of Black Studies, the field′s rapid growth over time necessitates an authoritative account of the discipline.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780761927624Publication Date: 2004
Good White People by
Argues for the necessity of a new ethos for middle-class white anti-racism.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781438451701Publication Date: 2014
Racism, Not Race: Answers to Frequently Asked Questions by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780231553735Publication Date: 2021
So You Want to Talk about Race by
In this #1 New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo offers a revelatory examination of race in America Protests against racial injustice and white supremacy have galvanized millions around the world. The stakes for transformative conversations about race could not be higher. Still, the task ahead seems daunting, and it's hard to know where to start. How do you tell your boss her jokes are racist? Why did your sister-in-law hang up on you when you had questions about police reform? How do you explain white privilege to your white, privileged friend? In So You Want to Talk About Race, Ijeoma Oluo guides readers of all races through subjects ranging from police brutality and cultural appropriation to the model minority myth in an attempt to make the seemingly impossible possible: honest conversations about race, and about how racism infects every aspect of American life. "Simply put: Ijeoma Oluo is a necessary voice and intellectual for these times, and any time, truth be told." ―Phoebe Robinson, New York Times bestselling author of You Can't Touch My Hair
Call Number: E184.A1 Olu.ISBN: 9781580056779Publication Date: 2018
Tacit Racism by
We need to talk about racism before it destroys our democracy. And that conversation needs to start with an acknowledgement that racism is coded into even the most ordinary interactions. Every time we interact with another human being, we unconsciously draw on a set of expectations to guide us through the encounter. What many of us in the United States--especially white people--do not recognize is that centuries of institutional racism have inescapably molded those expectations. This leads us to act with implicit biases that can shape everything from how we greet our neighbors to whether we take a second look at a resume. This is tacit racism, and it is one of the most pernicious threats to our nation. In Tacit Racism, Anne Warfield Rawls and Waverly Duck illustrate the many ways in which racism is coded into the everyday social expectations of Americans, in what they call Interaction Orders of Race. They argue that these interactions can produce racial inequality, whether the people involved are aware of it or not, and that by overlooking tacit racism in favor of the fiction of a "color-blind" nation, we are harming not only our society's most disadvantaged--but endangering the society itself. Ultimately, by exposing this legacy of racism in ordinary social interactions, Rawls and Duck hope to stop us from merely pretending we are a democratic society and show us how we can truly become one.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780226703725Publication Date: 2021
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People about Race by
'Every voice raised against racism chips away at its power. We can't afford to stay silent. This book is an attempt to speak'*Updated edition featuring a new afterword*The book that sparked a national conversation. Exploring everything from eradicated black history to the inextricable link between class and race, Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race is the essential handbook for anyone who wants to understand race relations in Britain today. THE NO.1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERWINNER OF THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS NON-FICTION NARRATIVE BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018FOYLES NON-FICTION BOOK OF THE YEARBLACKWELL'S NON-FICTION BOOK OF THE YEARWINNER OF THE JHALAK PRIZELONGLISTED FOR THE BAILLIE GIFFORD PRIZE FOR NON-FICTIONLONGLISTED FOR THE ORWELL PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR A BOOKS ARE MY BAG READERS AWARD
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781408870570Publication Date: 2017
Databases for Race Studies
Bibliographies for Black Studies
- Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies
- Oxford Bibliographies: African American Studies
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia: African History
- Bibliographies and Resource guides in African Studies
- African American History: Bibliographies
- Black Studies in the United States: A bibliography
- Recordings: A Select Bibliography of Contemporary African, Afro-Caribbean and Asian British Art
- Black British Literature: An Annotated Bibliography
- British Library: Black Britain and Asian Britain
- African Diaspora Bibliography
Race.Ed
RACE.ED is a cross-university network concerned with race, racialization and decolonial studies from a multidisciplinary perspective.
RACE.ED showcases excellence in teaching, research and knowledge, exchange, impact (KEI) in race and decolonial studies at The University of Edinburgh.
The Digital Empire
Giving evidence to a Parliamentary Select Committee in 1852, the philosopher John Stuart Mill said:
“…the whole Government of India is carried on in writing. All the orders given, and all the acts of the executive officers, are reported in writing, and the whole of the original correspondence is sent to the Home Government; so that there is no single act done in India, the whole of the reasons for which are not placed on record.”
These archives of empire, from British rule over the Indian subcontinent to King Leopold’s brutal exploitation of Congo, are available digitally to students at Edinburgh to conduct original research into the history and legacies of colonialism.
This recording of a Dissertation Festival session takes you through 3 of the digital archives available to students and staff at University of Edinburgh that allow you to explore the histories and legacies of colonialism.
What do I do if the Library doesn't have what I need?
- Inter-Library Loans (ILL)Use the ILL service to try and borrow books from other libraries or get scans of journal articles from other libraries.
- Book recommendationsUse this service to recommend the Library purchases a book that it doesn't already have in its collections.
- Visit another libraryIt may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library to get access to the item you require. Some reciprocal schemes and agreements allow our staff and students access to some other libraries.
Feedback and Contact us
We'd love to hear any suggestions you have for this or any of our other EDI focused content. If you know of books, articles, videos or podcasts you think we should add to our guides, let us know! You can contribute to our Padlet here.
If you'd like to speak to us directly about anything mentioned in this toolkit or you'd like to be involved in helping us review or test future resources before they go live, you can find the Academic Support Librarian for your subject area via the links on this page:
Alternatively you can email our team using the following link which will direct your call to our Unidesk mailbox. One of our colleagues from the EDI working group will pick up the call from there and get back to you:
