Translation Studies
This guide provides a general introduction to Library and information resources available in Edinburgh for Translation Studies.
Library Services Update
The web link below takes you to the up-to-date information about access to the Library collections, facilities and services, and how to get further help.
About this guide
This guide serves as a starting point to find Library and information resources for Translation Studies in Edinburgh.
Table of Contents:
Related subject guides
Translation Studies crosses over with some other subject areas. Subject Guides for other disciplines may offer useful information, depending on the area of your research interest.
Overview
Translation Studies is a relatively new but growing discipline in Edinburgh, with an equally growing collection of books, journals and reference works which are focused on all aspects of transtation studies and the practice of translation.
The inter-disciplinary nature of the subject means that the teaching, learning and research in translation studies also benefit from the Library's traditionally rich collections in linguistics and world literature in a multitude of languages.
Most collections of printed books and journals are housed in the Main Library, George Square.
- Main Library
- Main Library opening hours
- Main Library Self-Guide tour
- Brief guide to Locations of collections in Main Library
The physical collections of books and journals are supplemented by a large number of online databases which provide access to:
- e-books
- e-journals
- dissertations
- archives
- bibliographies
- citation indexes
- conference proceedings
- newspapers
- film streaming
- and other resources
Search Library Resources
Use DiscoverEd to search the Library's collections and find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use your University Login to sign into your account and manage loans, requests and fines.
How to find items in your reading list
Use DiscoverEd to search for items in your reading list as shown above.
You can also use Resource Lists to find your course reading lists. Lookup reading lists by list title, course title, course code, course instructors. Use the 'Subject' dropdown selection list to browse all the Resource Lists in your subject area.
Please note that not all the courses at the University use Resource Lists.
Accessing material beyond the Library collections
If the library does not have what you want then there are several ways of getting access to the material:
The National Library of Scotland
Conveniently located within ten minutes' walk of the University's Main Library, the National Library of Scotland (NLS) holds huge collections of primary and secondary source matierials relating to English literature.
- National Library of Scotland
- Using National Library of Scotland (presentation by NLS staff for UoE students on 29 Oct 2020, including information on how to access the NLS during the current COVID situation)
The Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Service
This allows you to request material either held at distant university library sites including the University Collections Facility, or material not held by the university.
Book Recommendations
If you are unable to find the book that you need for your studies then use the Student Request a Book (RaB) service to recommend a purchase.
Visit another library
It may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library in the UK to get access to the item you require. Some reciprocal schemes and agreements allow our staff and students access to some other libraries.
See also:
Academic Support Librarian
Highlights of Translations Studies books
Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English
Classe, O. Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English. Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 3rd floor PN241 Enc.
Literary Translation
Wright, Chantal. Literary Translation. Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2016. Main Library (STANDARD LOAN) - 2nd floor P306.5 Wri.
The Routledge handbook of translation studies
Millán, Carmen., and Francesca. Bartrina. The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies. Routledge, 2013. Main Library (HUB SHORT LOAN) - Ground floor P306.5 Rou.