Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Dissertations and Dissertation Festival

News

 

Dissertation Festival offered a series of live online events exploring how the Library can support students to make the most of their dissertation experience: from exploring what library resources are available to support a research question, to managing the bibliographic and research data students find. 

This page brings together digital resource suppliers and teams including Library Academic Support, Research Support, the Centre for Research Collections, the IAD and Digital Skills.

 

Thanks to all who attended the live events held over the Dissertation Festival 26 Oct - 06 Nov. 
Recordings of the events and links to resources are being added below.  

Dissertation Festival Topics

 

Dissertation Fair - CAHSS. 29 October

Presentation pdf (UG, PGT and PGR - Online) Citing Sources and Creating Bibliographies with Zotero
Event Recording Using the Library for creative dissertations: digital resources in art, music and drama
Event Recording Using the Centre for Research Collections (CRC) for your dissertation
Event Recording
Presentation pdf
Recording (registration required) 
Support information
Covidence Videos 
Covidence for systematic reviews in Sports & Health Sciences research
Event recording
Presentation pdf
The Digital Empire: 3 Online Primary Source Collections for Researching the History and Legacies of Colonialism
Recording coming soon
Presentation pdf
Using Gale Primary Sources for historical research
Event Recording Using Sage Research Methods for Social Science research

Using existing, open, data for your dissertation research 
Want to find some research data you can analyse for your dissertation? Working to a tight deadline? The Research Data Service can help you find openly-licensed research datasets to choose from, which you can start using straight away. Join us during the Dissertation Festival to find out where

 

Recording tbc                   Using existing, open, data for your dissertation research (CAHSS)                                 
.

Cultural Heritage Collections

Event Recording
Event Recording What can we learn from Musical Instruments?
Workshop format
(not suitable for recording) 
Language in Research and Reporting

Digital Skills and Training Events
Workshops and information available at https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/help-consultancy/is-skills

 

Institute for Academic Development
UG (IAD) workshops - UG here
PGT (IAD) workshops - PG here

Online live sessions. 

Finding Academic Literature

Producing a critical review of the literature can seem like a daunting prospect, especially for students new to this University and its library facilities. This session is designed to help you get started and know where to seek help when needing to find research literature efficiently.

Event Recording    
Presentation pptx            
IAD (PGT - Online) Finding Academic Literature for your assignments - CSE                             

Using existing, open, data for your dissertation research 
Want to find some research data you can analyse for your dissertation? Working to a tight deadline? The Research Data Service can help you find openly-licensed research datasets to choose from, which you can start using straight away. Join us during the Dissertation Festival to find out where

 

Event Recording              Using existing, open, data for your dissertation research (CSE & MVM)                                  
.

Engineering

Recording tbc             Engineering Village for engineering literature and data searching
Recording tbc    Boost Your Research Profile with IEEE
Recording tbc    Access Engineering - interactive engineering ebooks and data visualisation tool
Recording tbc    IET Inspec database - discover research literature
Recording tbc    Boost Your Research Profile with IEEE (repeat of 03 Nov)

Dissertation Fair - CSE/MVM. 05 November 

Recording tbc    IET Inspec database - discover research literature
Event Recording
Presentation pdf
How to get the best from Web of Science                                                         
Recording tbc    Covidence 101
Recording sent to registrants
Scopus tutorials 
Getting the most out of Scopus
Recording tbc    How to get the best from CABI resources
Recording tbc    Using the Journal of Visualized Experiments for your dissertation                                                            

 

How to get the best from Web of Science

This session introduces Web of Science as a tool for undergraduate and postgraduate students. It is aimed at beginners and intermediate users.

 

Covidence 101

This webinar includes a live demonstration of the Covidence platform, led by our Community Manager Nancy Owens. She'll provide an overview of systematic review workflow, and will showcase some of our most popular product features. Join us for tips and tricks to jumpstart your review progress.

 

Getting the most out of Scopus

Do you need help to start with a research topic or literature review? This session introduces Scopus as a tool for undergraduate and postgraduate students and researchers who need access to the latest relevant research. It is aimed at beginners and intermediate users.

 

How to Get the Best from CABI resources

We have a range of online resources produced by CABI:

CAB Abstracts – a bibliographic database covering applied life sciences, agriculture, veterinary science, nutrition and the environment.
Global Health – a bibliographic database covering public health research and practice, including zoonotic and tropical diseases, from over 130 countries
Animal Health and Production Compendium - information on animal diseases, their pathogens and vectors; animal husbandry, genetics and the nutrition of livestock and poultry species and breeds
Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria - diagnostic descriptions, illustrations and information on over 2,000 fungal and bacterial taxa
Distribution Maps of Plant Diseases - data on the worldwide distribution of plant diseases
Distribution Maps of Plant Pests - data on the worldwide distribution of plant pests
VetMed Resource - developments in veterinary science, helpful for basing practice on the best available evidence.

This session will highlight some of these and how you can use them to find information for your dissertation or research.

The session will be delivered by experts from CABI.

 

Using the Journal of Visualised Experiments for your Dissertation 

JoVE, the Journal of Visualised Experiments (https://www-jove-com.ezproxy.is.ed.ac.uk/) is an online resource, available to students and staff in the University of Edinburgh.

JoVE is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences.

This session will show you how to use JoVE to help with your dissertation or research.

The session will be led by Dr Maaike Pols from JoVE.

Digital Skills and Training Events
Workshops and information available at https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/help-consultancy/is-skills

Institute for Academic Development
UG (IAD) workshops - UG here
PGT (IAD) workshops - PG here

Online live sessions. 

Making the most of your research data

26 Oct                  
Making the most of your research data - materials made available and discussion board launched
02 Nov  Live Q&A session 

This asynchronous workshop outlines why research data management is important for your research project and suggests tips and resources to help you carry out your research effectively. The workshop content and discussion board will be available on the Micro-Methods Workshops Learn page from the 26th of October 2020. The discussion board will be monitored by the instructor between the 26th of October and 2nd of November. An online Q&A will take place on the 2nd of November between 11 am and 12 pm. This course is introductory and targeted at UG/Masters level students.

 

Using existing, open, data for your dissertation research 

Recording tbc
Using existing, open, data for your dissertation research (CAHSS)                                          
Event Recording Using existing, open, data for your dissertation research (CSE & MVM) 
Want to find some research data you can analyse for your dissertation? Working to a tight deadline? The Research Data Service can help you find openly-licensed research datasets to choose from, which you can start using straight away. Join us during the Dissertation Festival to find out where.

Learn more about the Research Data Service here.  

Using the Centre for Research Collections (CRC) for your dissertation 

Special Collections (archives, manuscripts and rare books) can be a rich source of material for your dissertation, but can be sometimes feel daunting to use. This Dissertation Week session will show you how to search for, access and handle unique cultural and heritage collections, including items from the Centre for Research Collections.

 

What can we learn from Musical Instruments?

Musical instruments can help us to understand why music is the shape it is within any culture in the world. They also tell us about material culture, craft skills, technology, acoustics, economic structures, business practices and any number of other facets of human behaviour. This session introduces some of the possibilities offered by the Musical Instrument Collection at the University and highlights how you could go about adding musical instruments to your own research.

 

Language in Research and Reporting

This workshop will use primary source material from the University’s Social Work archive to interrogate the use of language, its impact and its legacy. Participants will also explore the relationship between language and the purpose of research, the importance of terminology and use the source material to investigate what the vocabulary can reveal about mid-20th century attitudes to mental health and social housing.


Learn more about the Centre for Research Collections here.  

Online live sessions. 

 

Nursing 

A range of are webinars are available on supporting systematic reviews in CINAHL. These webinars are delivered by the database provider (EBSCO). Schedule and registration

Dissertation Festival Schedule

Contact Us

For more information please get in touch