Italian Studies
Library Services Update
The web link below takes you to the up-to-date information about access to the Library collections, facilities and services, and how to get further help.
Main Collections
Main Library
Most books and journals for Italian Studies are stored in the Main Library, George Square. Most books in the Main Library are catalogued within the Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings sequence (eg PQ4809.A45 Cal.). The LC sequence is located on the 2nd floor (shelfmarks A-PB) and 3rd floor (shelfmarks PC-Z) of the building. Some older books are catalogued within the Dewey Decimal Classication (DCC) sequence (eg .85304 Con.) which is located on the 4th floor of the building.
Some older books are located in the University Collections Facility (UCF) from which items can be requested. Requests from the UCF are delivered to the Main Library where you can collect them.
Find out how to request items from the UCF
All collection materials are listed in DiscoverEd which is the Library's online catalogue.
Explore the Library collections through DiscoverEd
HUB Collection
The High Use Books (HUB) collection, located on the ground floor of the Main Library, consists of HUB Reserve (3 hour loan) and HUB Short Loan (7 day loan) books as well as offprint journal articles, DVDs, and CD-ROMs. Undergraduate course books on Reserve for Italian studies are located in this collection.
Find out more about using the HUB Collection
Location of other collections
Print Journals are located on the 4th floor of the Main Library.
Reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias and bibliographies are classified in the LC scheme and interfiled with the general LC lending stock. Some older reference works are stored in closed-stack shelving from which you have to request them. See Main Library closed stack request form.
Manuscripts and rare books are held in the Centre for Research Collections (CRC) on the 6th floor of the Main Library. For information about registering and accessing Special Collections material, see Centre for Research Collections (CRC) Homepage.
Bound volumes of printed exam papers up to 2004/5 are at shelfmark Per. 37 with the journal collection on the 4th floor. Exam papers from 2004 onward are available online. See Exam Papers Online.
How to find items in your reading list
Use DiscoverEd to search for books, journals, journal articles, DVDs and other physical and electronic items. Use your University Login to sign into your account and manage loans and requests.
Use Resource Lists to find your course reading lists. Lookup reading lists by list title, course title, course code, course instructors. Use the 'Subject' dropdown selection list to browse all the Resource Lists in your subject area such as 'English Literature' (displaying only the first 100 matching lists).
Please note that not all the courses at the University use Resource Lists.
Accessing material not in the Library collection
If the library does not have what you want then there are several ways of getting access to the material:
The National Library of Scotland
Conveniently located within ten minutes' walk of the University's Main Library, the National Library of Scotland (NLS) holds huge collections of primary and secondary source matierials relating to English literature.
- National Library of Scotland
- Using National Library of Scotland (presentation by NLS staff for UoE students on 29 Oct 2020, including information on how to access the NLS during the current COVID situation)
The Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Service
This allows you to request material either held at distant university library sites including the University Collections Facility, or material not held by the university.
Book Recommendations
If you are unable to find the book that you need for your studies then use the Student Request a Book (RaB) service to recommend a purchase.
Visit another library
It may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library in the UK to get access to the item you require. Some reciprocal schemes and agreements allow our staff and students access to some other libraries.
