Russian Studies

This guide provides a general introduction to library and information resources for all those studying, teaching and researching on topics relating to Russia. Please note the additional information on the left hand navigation.

Overview -Collections

Main collections

Most books and journals for Russian Studies are held in the Main Library, George Square. Some older books are located in the University Collections Facility (UCF) from where items can be requested. All the materials are listed in DiscoverEd.

Main Library

Books in the Russian language are interfiled with the general collections according to the subject classification. The titles are searchable in DiscoverEd by Romanised transliteration. Books that are classified in the Library of Congress (LC) scheme (e.g. PG3410 Spe.) are located on the 3rd floor (shelfmarks P-Z) and 2nd floor (shelfmarks A-N).

Older books that are classified in the Dewey decimal scheme (e.g. F .891733 Tol. Che.) are shelved on the 4th floor or at the UCF. Books stored in the UCF can be requested using DiscoverEd, the University’s Library Discovery Service.

Other useful links:

HUB Collection

The High Use Books (HUB) collection, located on the ground floor of the Main Library, consists of HUB Reserve (3 hour loan) and HUB Short Loan (7 day loan) books as well as offprints. Undergraduate course books on Reserve for Russian studies are located in this collection

Centre for Research Collections

The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) houses the University Library’s Heritage Collections which include historical books, manuscripts, and archives. The main CRC facilities are on the 6th floor of the Main Library.

How to find items in your reading list

Use DiscoverEd to search for books, journals, journal articles, DVDs and other physical and electronic items. Use your University Login to sign into your account and manage loans and requests.

DiscoverEd_Logo
 

Use Resource Lists to find your course reading lists. Lookup reading lists by list title, course title, course code, course instructors. Use the 'Subject' dropdown selection list to browse all the Resource Lists in your subject area such as 'English Literature' (displaying only the first 100 matching lists).

     Resource lists

     Information for Students

Please note that not all the courses at the University use Resource Lists.

Accessing material beyond the Library collections

If the library does not have what you want then there are several ways of getting access to the material:

The National Library of Scotland

Conveniently located within ten minutes' walk of the University's Main Library, the National Library of Scotland (NLS) holds huge collections of primary and secondary source matierials on all subject areas.

The Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Service

This allows you to request material either held at distant university library sites including the  University Collections Facility, or material not held by the university. 

Book Recommendations

If you are unable to find the book that you need for your studies then use the Student Request a Book (RaB) service to recommend a purchase.

Visit another library

It may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library in the UK to get access to the item you require. Some reciprocal schemes and agreements allow our staff and students access to some other libraries.

Academic Support Librarian

Exam Papers

 

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

The Library Subject Guide for Exams and Revision provides advice on how to get the most out of the Library and other University support for revising for and taking exams: