New resources - CAHSS

Helicon in E flat, Anonymous, 1860s, MIMEd 5943

In 2020, the Musical Instrument Collection accepted the generous bequest of 52 objects, including brass instruments and mouthpieces, by Christopher R. Baines. Partly through his involvement with The Galpin Society (the UK’s learned society for musical instruments), Christopher had a long association with the Musical Instrument Collection in Edinburgh, contributing to the Galpin Society’s Edinburgh International Festival exhibition held at the Reid Museum in 1968. Although the instruments represent a range of periods and pitches, the strengths lie at the bass end with examples showing how makers developed instrument designs to make it easier for players to both play and carry such large instruments. The Helicon’s circular shape makes it easier for players to carry – or wear – whilst marching. As well as enabling us better to understand the music played on them, these instruments can be considered within their musical, cultural and technological contexts, offering the potential for interdisciplinary research and teaching.

Did you know the Library has access to almost all available ProQuest primary source databases until 31 December 2021? 

These databases allow you to explore 600 years worth of world history and, along with the wide and varied range of digital primary source databases the Library already gives you access to, can help enrich your learning, teaching and research.

Find out more about ProQuest Access 350

UoE Art Collection - Acquisitions and commissions 2020/2021

This digital booklet details some of the commissioning and acquisition activity that the Art Collection has been able to undertake over the University’s 2020/2021 financial year. It isn’t comprehensive, but compiled so as to provide you with an idea of the types of activity and artworks we are pursuing as we develop the collection.

The works referenced join the rest of our holdings, which are made available internally for use in teaching, research and display, and we also lend externally wherever possible. For those less familiar with the UoE Art Collection, more information can be found here.