Architectural History

The Academic Support Librarian team have created two new subject guides giving advice on resources relating to race studies, diversifying and decolonising the curriculum, and matters relating to EDI (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion).

You can access the Diversifying Toolkit here.

This guide assists with the work of diversifying resources used in teaching. Designed to help academic staff begin assessing the readings they already use to make their curriculum more inclusive.

You can find the Race and Decolonial Studies subject guide here.

Please also refer to your course’s online Resource List on Learn. The following are example texts, not a complete or comprehensive reading list:

Borden, I., et al, (2014) Forty ways to think about architecture: architectural history and theory today, Chichester: Wiley.

Crysler, C.G., et al, (2012) Sage handbook of architectural theory, London: Sage.

Davies, P. (2016) Architectural history retold, London: Routledge.

Friedman, A.T. (2006) Women and the making of the modern house: a social and architectural history, New Haven: Yale.

Haynes, N., et al, (2017) Building knowledge: an architectural history of the University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh: Historic Environment Scotland.

Hueber, J. (2014) Keys for architectural history research in the digital era, Paris: Publications de l’Institut national d’histoire de l’art.

Leach, A. (2010) What is architectural history? Cambridge: Polity.

Key journals held by the University of Edinburgh Libraries, in print or online via DiscoverEd:

• Architectural History [Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain] 
• Studies in History & Theory of Architecture [online journal]
• Architectural Histories: the open access journal of the EAHN [European Architectural History Network]

Key databases subscribed to by the University of Edinburgh libraries:

• Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals
• Yale A&A ePortal
• Bloomsbury Architecture eLibrary

These are listed on the A-Z of library databases and are also listed on DiscoverEd.

For the complete list of architecture-related databases please click here. 

For the complete list of history of art-related databases please click here.

For the complete list of history-related databases please click here.

The Dictionary of Scottish Architects (1660-1980) online resource has recently been refreshed and updated. The DSA is a database providing biographical information and job lists for all architects known to have worked in Scotland during the period 1660-1980, whether as principals, assistants or apprentices.

The AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950 contains free biographical and bibliographical data on architects born or working in Ireland, Wales and Scotland during the years 1800-1950.

Architectural Histories is the free open access journal of the European Architectural History Network (EAHN).

The Society of Architectural Historians Great Britain/UK has a wealth of information at Society of Architectural Historians 

The Society of Architectural Historians USA's website lists a huge number of useful free open access resources here

Are you an architectural history student conducting research about one of the University buildings? The University Estates department can help with that!  Estates hold a drawing for each and every building within The University of Edinburgh estate. These drawings cover each floor and outline every room within a specific building. For more information about how to request a plan or drawing of a building go to the Estates information page here.

The Estates Helpdesk can be contacted at estates.helpdesk@ed.ac.uk 

We have various databases dedicated to searching for theses and dissertations.