Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Divinity

Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Science and Religion

Books relating to Science and Religion will be found at a variety of locations – check your reading list on DiscoverEd. However, classmarks BL for Science and Religion and Q for Science might be useful places to browse. At New College Library you’ll find these books in the Library Hall and downstairs in Stack I. Other books for your topics may found at the Main Library and at the Murray Library at Kings Buildings.

Centre for Research Collections

A diagram of blood letting locations on the body. Abbey of Coupar Angus, 1482 The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) provide access to the University's wide ranging collections, which as well as rare books and manuscripts include anatomical, geological and other scientific object collections.

All of these collections can be accessed at the CRC on the 6th floor, Main Library.

Databases for Science and Religion

Journals for Science and Religion

Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Science and Religion journals. These include:

New College Library Special Collections for Religion & Science

New College Library’s historic book collections include early scientific and mathematical works, such as this edition of Galileo's Systema Cosmicum. Eighteenth and nineteenth century scientific works, including first editions of the works of Hugh Miller, can be found in the Natural Science Collections that date back to the time when Natural Science was taught as part of the early New College curriculum. The New College Archives contain the papers of Dr Ruth Page (1935 – 2015), who explored Christian perspectives on the natural world and creation.

Reference books for Science and Religion

Data sources