Highlights new subscriptions and larger and significant items relevant to CAHSS Schools that were purchased in the last academic year.
This page highlights new larger digital items and annual subscriptions acquired in academic year 2022-23 which were requested by, or are relevant to, the Edinburgh College of Art (ECA). See what we purchased in 2021/22.
The Academic Support Librarian for ECA is Jane Furness.
The ECA Academic Library Representative who attends and represents ECA at the CAHSS Library & Learning Resources Committee is Professor John Lee.
We work in partnership with the CAHSS College Library & Learning Resources Committee.
Tatler Archive from British Online Archives:
British Online Archives are one of the U.K.’s leading academic publishers. Their goal is to provide students and researchers with access to unique collections of primary source documents. From 1901 to 1968 The Tatler was one of various publications owned by the Illustrated London News. It catered to an affluent and traditionalist audience, keeping them informed about the latest developments in British High Society. Focusing mainly on fashion, theatre and sports, The Tatler regaled readers with news and gossip about Britain’s most prominent socialites, including aristocrats, athletes and actors. This collection yields valuable source material for researchers of British society in the early to mid-twentieth century, and of Britain’s wealthy and powerful elite.
Oxford Bibliographies’ Art History module:
Oxford Bibliographies provides access to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics, in this case History of Art. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
Britannia and Eve Archive from British Online Archives:
Formed in 1929 and owned by the Illustrated London News, this magazine marketed itself to a predominantly female readership, and especially to wealthy and conservative women. It maintained an emphasis on fashion, beauty and the home, and featured contributions from some of the most influential female artists and writers of the time. It became well known for the artistry of its illustrations and for its wide-ranging coverage. Given its popularity, eclecticism and influence, it provides critical insights into the history of fashion, gender history and British print culture.
Subculture Archives:
An educational and cultural research resource of primary sources including photography, oral histories, articles, flyers and ephemera, exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime.
You can explore the Library Subject Guides for ECA subject areas to find out about the full range of library resources for ECA.
