Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

New resources - CAHSS - 2022-2023

Highlights new subscriptions and larger and significant items relevant to CAHSS Schools that were purchased in the last academic year.

New Library resources for Law

This page highlights new larger digital items and subscriptions acquired in 2022/23 which were requested by, or are relevant to, the School of Law.

The Academic Support Librarians for Law are Anna Richards and SarahLouise McDonald.

The Law Library Convenor during 2022/23 was Andrew Steven, and during 2023/24 will be Paul Du Plessis. 

We work in partnership with the CAHSS College Library & Information Strategy Committee.

Requests for new library purchases are also discussed at the Law Library Committee, which meets twice a year.

Updates to Databases

Lexis PSL: Aimed at Diploma level students this databases offers access to practice notes, precedents, forms and current awareness alerts. In previous years we have held four and then eight modules. This year we have increased our holding to ten, all of which include specific Scots Law content. The newest modules are TMT (Technology, Media and Telecommunications) and Public Law. 

The full list of modules is:

  • Restructuring & Insolvency
  • Banking & Finance
  • Commercial
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Property
  • Private Client
  • Corporate
  • Employment
  • TMT (Technology, Media and Telecommunications)
  • Public Law

 

 

This year the Lexis Library and LexisPSL databases combined in one upgraded platform called Lexis+. The content remained consistent but our students were provided with training, videos and support to make the change as smooth as possible. 

New E-Book Collections

The following eBook packages were purchased in 2022/2023.

These resources were added to DiscoverEd as they were made available.

  • Hart 2023 EBook collection
  • Bloomsbury Professional 2023 Ebook collection
  • Edward Elgar Law 2023 EBook collection

New expensive items

The following expensive books were purchased either in print or as ebooks:

  • Lindley and Banks on Partnership
  • European Commentaries on Private International Law
  • Carver on Bills of Lading
  • The Human Right to Property: A Practical Approach to Article 1 of Protocol No. 1 to the ECHR
  • Colinvaux's Law of Insurance

New Journals and databases

The range of Law journals and databases available through our subscriptions is vast. In 2022/23 we were able to add the following databases to our collection:

  • Trusts e attività fiduciarie
  • Beck Online: Transportrecht Plus
  • Lexis Legal News Hub

ProQuest Access 350


Did you know the Library has access to almost all available ProQuest primary source databases until 31 December 2021? 

These databases allow you to explore 600 years worth of world history and, along with the wide and varied range of digital primary source databases the Library already gives you access to, can help enrich your learning, teaching and research.

Find out more about ProQuest Access 350

Library Subject Guide for Law

The Law subject guide collates library related information in one place. If your research topics and across other areas it may be useful to look at subject guides on that topic.

They also offer wider information and advice on matters such as referencing, exams and revision.