Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

New resources - CAHSS - 2022-2023

Highlights new subscriptions and larger and significant items relevant to CAHSS Schools that were purchased in the last academic year.

New Library resources for Moray House School of Education and Sport

This page highlights new larger digital items and subscriptions acquired in 2022/23 which were requested by, or are relevant to, the Moray House School of Education and Sport.

The Academic Support Librarian for MHSES is Ishbel Leggat.

The Academic Library Representative for MHSES in 2022/2023 is Dr Philippa Sheail.

We work in partnership with the CAHSS College Library & Information Strategy Committee.

 

Heritage Collections - Recent Acquisitions

Scrapbooks of Margaret and Daisy Burnley-Campbell

Scrapbooks of Margaret and Daisy Burnley-Campbell (The Burnley-Campbells, Ormidale, Argyll, 1909-1919), University of Edinburgh Library, Heritage Collections, Archives (COLL-2080).

These two volumes, compiled by Margaret Burnley-Campbell of Ormidale (1857-1938) and her daughter Daisy Burnley-Campbell (1891-1973), provide a vivid record of Margaret Burnley-Campbell’s engagement with the Gaelic and women’s suffrage movements in the opening decades of the 20th century. Unusually for scrapbooks, they contain not only news cuttings, but also many items that have been preserved whole: programmes, posters, booklets, etc. They thus constitute a fully contextualized collection of rare, and in many cases unique, ephemera. Retained by the family until recently, they were bought with capital funds from a bookseller in October 2022.

In the early 20th century, Margaret Burnley Campbell was the most active of the many women involved in An Comunn Gàidhealach, the body founded to promote and preserve Gaelic language, music, and culture. She was elected to its Executive Council in 1904 and served as President from 1907 to 1909. She also played a prominent role on its Education Committee, promoting Gaelic education in state schools and setting up Gaelic summer schools for adult learners. In 1911, she was the prime mover behind ‘An Clachan’, the model Highland cottage that formed part of the Scottish Exhibition in Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow. The scrapbooks contain records of these activities, of Mòds, and of many public meetings that she either chaired or addressed as an in-demand speaker.

A Selection of New Books: Children's Lending Collection (Moray House Library)

New Journals

To access TES Magazine:
  • Create a new TES profile at: www.tes.com/authn/register
  • Make sure you use your University email address when you set up your account
  • If you already have an account with a personal email address, you will still need to create a new profile with your University email to access TES Magazine
  • When you've created your account, visit the TES Magazine homepage: www.tes.com/magazine to start reading exclusive news, analysis, teaching and learning guides, research reviews and more.

New Open Access Journals

ProQuest Access 350

In 2022/23 the Library extended it's subscription to ProQuest Access 350 until 31 July 2024.

These databases allow you to explore 600 years worth of world history and, along with the wide and varied range of digital primary source databases the Library already gives you access to, can help enrich your learning, teaching and research.

Find out more about ProQuest Access 350

Human Kinetics Library Core Collection - New Titles Added in 2023

Library subject guides for Moray House School of Education and Sport

You can explore the Library Subject Guides to find out about the full range of library resources for Moray House School of Education and Sport.