New resources - CAHSS - 2022-2023

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It insures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved. Among many diverse and historical 20th century collections, materials include: the Papers of Simon Nkoli, a prominent South African anti-apartheid, gay and lesbian rights, and HIV/AIDS activist; Exit newspaper (formerly Link/Skakel), South Africa's longest running monthly LGBTQ publication; Geographic Files, also known as "Lesbians in…" with coverage from Albania to Zimbabwe; and the largest available collection of digitized Australian LGBTQ periodicals. Note the Library already has access to Parts I-III of the Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

he East African Newspapers collection provides insight into this region during the 20th and early 21st centuries, a time of great change for Africa. In East Africa, this time witnessed the growth of decolonization as independence movements swelled, and local, autonomous self-governance took hold throughout the region. This period was also punctuated by famine, drought, political uprisings, border disputes, and war as countries worked to navigate the post-colonial landscape. The collection includes 3 key newspapers: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).

Launched in 1981 by the University of Sussex as a rebirth of the original 1937 Mass Observation, its founders' aim was to document the social history of Britain by recruiting volunteers to write about their lives and opinions. Still growing, it is one of the most important sources available for qualitative social data in the UK. This collection consists of the directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation between 1980 and 2010 and the thousands of responses to them from the hundreds of Mass Observers.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specialising in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. You can search for datasets by keyword, country, surveying agency, timeframe and type of sample.

Sex & Sexuality covers a broad range of topics and is drawn from leading archives around the world. From papers of leading sexologists to LGBTQI+ personal histories, the collection is an essential resource for the study of human sexuality, its complexities and its history. Module I is sourced solely from the renowned Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections. The Library has purchased access to Module I. There is a second module, Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity, which the Library does not have access to.

From the world's leading collection of youth culture history the Museum of Youth Culture, The Subcultures Archive is an educational and cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of UK youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime

Choose "Project Muse All Journals" to get the most recent volumes.