New resources - CAHSS - 2022-2023
Highlights new subscriptions and larger and significant items relevant to CAHSS Schools that were purchased in the last academic year.
New Library resources for Divinity
This page highlights new larger digital items and subscriptions acquired in 2022/2023 which were requested by, or are relevant to, the School of Divinity.
The Academic Support Librarian for Divinity is Christine Love-Rodgers.
The Academic Library Representative for Divinity in 2023/2024 is Dr Simon Burton
We work in partnership with the CAHSS Library & Learning Resources Committee.
Requests for new library purchases are also discussed at Divinity Library & IT Committee, which has meetings twice a year.
New databases
- The Oxford Annotated MishnahThe Mishnah is the foundational document of rabbinic law and, one could say, of rabbinic Judaism itself. It is overwhelmingly technical and focused on matters of practice, custom, and law. The Oxford Annotated Mishnah is the first annotated translation of this work.
Centre for Research Collections New Acquisitions Highlight
The following items is selected from CRC Annual Acquisitions Highlights 2021
Buddhist Conceptual Map of the World
Zuda Rokashi, Nansenbushuu Bankoku Shoka No Zu, 1710; Map.S.68
This is the first Japanese map of the world to include Europe and America, from a Buddhist cosmological perspective. It shows a mixture of geographical and mythological information: centred on India, the world is shown as a single landmass, with a few outlying islands. India and China are recognisable, with many place names, and the Himalayas identifiable in the centre. Mythologically, at the very centre of the map is a spiral showing the meeting of the four sacred rivers: the Indus, the Ganges, the Bramaputra, and the Sutlej – the site where the Buddha was legendarily conceived. Europe and America appear right at the edges of the map, as islands.
This map was compiled from many earlier Buddhist sources, and by making selective use of some European maps, which had reached Japan. Its influence was enormous; it formed the basis of the Japanese world view until well into the 19th century.
New journals
- Augustinianum : Periodicum semestre Instituti PatristiciAugustinianum is the peer-reviewed journal of the Augustinian Patristic Institute in Rome. Since 1961 it has published original research and reviews related to the study of ancient Christian literature and the thought of the Fathers of the Church.
- Jewish Studies QuarterlyJewish Studies Quarterly (JSQ) contains studies on all areas of Jewish history, religion, and culture. New subscription to provide access to current issues - ON ORDER
- Midwest Studies in Philosophy.Midwest Studies in Philosophy presents important thinking on a single topic in philosophy with each volume. Influential contributors bring provocative and varying ideas to the theme at hand. Current issues subscription requested.
New books : a selection
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Religions of the Indigenous People of South Asia by
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Religions of the Indigenous People of South Asia Online strives to reflect the diversity of indigenous cultures of South Asia with its many language groups and religious traditions. Religion is taken in a broad sense and includes aspects of morality, symbolism, identity formation, environmental concerns, and art. The approach is contemporary and not a reconstruction of an anterior state, though this does not exclude talking about historical processes.
ISBN: 9789004355521
Critical Readings on Christianity in Korea (4 Vol. Set) by ISBN: 9789004260535
Defending Faith by ISBN: 9783161517983
Genres of Mark by ISBN: 9783525560600
Historical Dictionary of the Baptists by
Historical Dictionary of the Baptists, Third Edition expands upon the second edition with an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important events, doctrines, and the church founders, leaders, and other prominent figures who have made notable contributions.
ISBN: 9781538122518
Library subject guide for Divinity
You can explore the Library Subject Guide to find out about the full range of library resources supporting Divinity subject areas.