DiscoverEd is an excellent tool to discover academic literature but there are other sources you may need to include. Information on some of these are included below.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC and delivered by the UK Data Service to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioural sciences. It hosts collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
More data listings at the Research Data Service
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites
Access eresources using Google Scholar
Google Scholar may not provide access to full-text, however, by linking to the Library you can access full-text where there is a University subscription.
You will now see FindIt@Edinburgh links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text.
Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes patents and patent applications.
Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. economics, law etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website.
A wide range of courses are available throughout the year delivered either classroom based or online. These include finding library resources for your studies, referencing and reference management tools.
Institute for Academic Development (IAD) for academic and study skills.
Digital Skills and Training for digital, information literacy and IT skills.
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
The print collection for Business is held in the Main Library with most books available on the second floor and the ground floor HUB.
The Main Library also provides open-access computing, printing and a range of study spaces.