Business

Coverage:

• UK GAAP standards and guidance
• IFRS standards and guidance
• Company law and governance
• Audit and accounting tools
• News

Access Information
If prompted, login with your university username and password.

This book is an essential tool for anyone applying, auditing, interpreting, regulating, studying or teaching IFRS. Written by EYs financial reporting professionals from around the world, this three-volume guide to reporting under IFRS provides a global perspective on the application of IFRS. Complex technical accounting issues are explained clearly and IFRS is set in a practical context with numerous worked examples and hundreds of illustrations from the published financial reports of major listed companies from around the world.

FAME allows you to search by any combination of over 300 criteria including: geographic location, SIC code or activity description, number of employees, statement items, ratios, credit score/rating, legal form, year of incorporation, holding company / subsidiary. The selected companies may then be displayed or printed in a variety of customisable formats or exported to other applications such as word-processors for mail merging, databases or spreadsheets. Company comparisons can be achieved using the Peer Analysis option whilst the Statistical Analysis option allows you to produce market sector reports.

Access Information
Access on and off-campus. Choose University of Edinburgh from list then click Select button. Login with your University username and password.

It also provides access to:

Digitised manuals
Beginning with the very first Moody's Manual published in 1909, Mergent offers you more than a century's worth of global corporate data fully digitized into high quality, PDF formatted documents.

Ford Equity Research Reports
Mergent Archives offers up to 3 years of multi-page equity research reports released weekly for over 4500 U.S. and Canadian companies. Clear and factual in its design the Ford Equity Research Report provides ratings, recommendations, sector analysis and company financial information.

Annual Reports
Access more than 85 years of Annual Reports for companies across the globe through the historical annual report collection dating back to as early as 1925.

Industry Report Collection
Detailed analysis and forecasts on two dozen major global industry sectors from textiles to aviation for the North American, European, Asia Pacific, and Latin American regions (from 2003)

Access Information
Access via the VPN, information at https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/computing/desktop-personal/vpn

This dataset will allow you to create time series panel datasets on lists of companies filtered from over 300 search criteria, which can then be exported and used for external analysis to support your research.

The University subscription for Orbis is limited to information for companies in the category 'Very large company' These are defined as companies which have an operating revenue >= $130 million US, total assets >= $260 million US, employees >= 1000

Access Information
Access on and off-campus. Choose University of Edinburgh from list then click Select button. Login with your University username and password.

The information includes: standardised and 'as reported' financials (including restated reports), SEC filings, detailed earnings estimates including recommendations, ownership, stock data, news and ratings.

Access Information
Access on and off-campus. Choose University of Edinburgh from list then click Select button. Login with your University username and password.

Access
Go to https://my.pitchbook.com/loginAction.do?action=sso&defaultName= and enter your university email. You will be re-directed to a standard UoE login page, which will then take you through to PitchBook.
Note: Please note that PitchBook cannot be used for bulk downloads of raw data.

Please note: when you sign up you will be asked to read and agree to Pitchbook’s terms and conditions. These include agreeing that you will not share your account details and will only use the site for academic, educational, and scholarly use.

Access has been funded by the Data Driven Entrepreneurship Beacon Programme and delivered by Edinburgh Innovations. If you are interested in commercialising your research or idea, please visit the websites of EI (https://edinburgh-innovations.ed.ac.uk/) and the DDI (https://ddi.ac.uk/) and get in touch to see how they can help.

Pitchbook have a Help Centre (https://help.pitchbook.com/s/) available to all users of Pitchbook (authentication required), here you can find videos and tutorials to help with getting started on the platform as well as advanced navigations, our methodology and data information and popular articles.

You will also find additional videos on the Pitchbook Youtube channel at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3438DE0BB880DD65

It provides access to both real-time and historical information and:

• Global Company Data: financials, fixed income, estimates and ownership
• Qualitative Data: key developments, transactions, profiles, people, relationships, private equity
• Macroeconomic and commodity data

Access Information:
Self-registration required. Click on New User? Enter your University email address and follow the instructions to complete registration.

Support materials are available at: https://pages.marketintelligence.spglobal.com/Academic-Resource-Center-Student-Training.html

Access Information:
Self-registration required. Click on “New User Sign Up” and select “S&P Capital IQ Pro New User Sign Up.” Enter your University email address and follow the instructions to complete registration.

If you encounter login issues, try accessing via https://capitaliq.spglobal.com/ on campus, and if off campus, via the VPN (information at: https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/computing/desktop-personal/vpn )

Support materials are available at: https://pages.marketintelligence.spglobal.com/Academic-Resource-Center-Student-Training.html

It provides access to the databases: Boardex; Compustat; CRSP; CRSP/Compustat merged; Execucomp; and ISS Directors Data.

You will find comprehensive guides to using WRDS in the Classroom area of WRDS. Or contact their Help Desk, email wrds-support@wharton.upenn.edu

Access Information
Students should register at: https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/ You registration request will be sent to a WRDS representative for approval. Please note it will take up to 3 days for your account to be approved.

Access Information
Bloomberg is available to Business School Y3 and Y4 undergraduate students and Business School postgraduate students on the labelled terminals in the Business School Finance lab.

Find an available terminal and access Bloomberg from the “start menu” or using the icon on the desktop. You need to register (create your own login). Once registered, login to the terminal with the login details you have created.

6 terminals are available to book in advance using the link: https://edin.ac/48b9r6b

Business School staff : email hub@business-school.ed.ac.uk

Not available to Business School Y1 and Y2 undergraduate students.

Access
To register for access to Workspace, complete the online registration form at https://edin.ac/4aUEi9o

Licences are assigned for a 4 week period (28 days). If you require access after that date, re-register using the online registration form at https://edin.ac/4aUEi9o

Your request will be processed within 3 working days. Requests are not processed at weekends.

Please note that certain data is only available in the browser interface of the product and not through the excel add-in (for example executive compensation of inactive companies).

FURTHER INFORMATION ON CONTENT
MARKET DATA & PRICING
The widest available range of cross-asset intraday and end-of-day data.

Global, multi-asset pricing, terms and conditions, and analytics – typically with the longest history available with data from extensive contributing sources.

NEWS & INSIGHT (10,000+ sources)
• Reuters News
• Breakingviews
• Third-party news sources & news wires
• Market-moving scoops, newsletters, exclusive interviews and reports

DATASTREAM (Historical Time series)
Macro and cross-asset financial time series in the industry.
• Global key indicators
• National sources & calendars
• International historical sources
• Forward-looking economic indicators
• History since the 1950’s

COMPANY DATA
• Business classifications
• Credit (CDS)
• Company news and views
• Corporate actions
• Debt New Issues (1960’s)
• Debt Structures
• Entity risk (Corporate tree structure)
• ESG data (ranking and ratings - 2002)
• Estimates – I/B/E/S™ (1976)
• Equity New Issues (1970)
• Events & transcripts – Streetevents (2000)
• Filings (1970’s)
• Fundamentals (1980’s)
• Mergers & acquisitions (1.2M+ 1964)
• Ownership (1997)
• People data
• Private company data
• Research (aftermarket)
• Shareholder activism Intelligence
• Shareholding disclosures
• Significant developments (35 Key topics)
• Syndicate loans (1982), Project finance (1972)
• Venture capital & private equity (1969)

ANALYTICS + FEATURES
• Search & Discover (AI)
• Universal Screener
• Portfolio Analytics: Analyze fundamental characteristics, portfolio composition, performance, contribution, attribution and risk.
• Interactive Map – physical assets, weather, vessels, trade flows, Infrastructure projects
• Alerts – available for a range of content and instrument types.
• Build models in Excel® and easily link and update displays in Word and PowerPoint®.
• StarMine® quantitative analytics & models
• CodeBook & Desktop API - Easily query content using APIs such as Java or .NET or Python.