Business

From off campus use the VPN. Information at https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/computing/desktop-personal/vpn

Please note user access is limited to 10 concurrent users at any one time.

Access Information
To access Emis go to http://www.ezproxy.is.ed.ac.uk/login?url=http://www.emis.com/ (if you are off-campus you will be prompted for your university username and password).. Click on "Client Login".

Content includes:

The Gartner Magic Quadrant & Critical Capabilities
These provide a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers in fast-growing markets: Leaders, Visionaries, Niche Players and Challengers.

Hype Cycles
These provide a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications, and how they are potentially relevant to solving real business problems and exploiting new opportunities.

Special Reports
Time-sensitive research reports focused on key issues in technology.

Complimentary Research
Regularly updated selections of cutting-edge research from Gartner analysts.

Reports are updated 1-4 times per year depending on how fast moving the industry is ensuring the most up to date research possible.

In addition to coursework/assignments, these reports would be of use to students researching industries for placements, future careers (including start up research) and interview preparation.

Access Information
Off-campus you will be prompted to login with your University username and password.

With over 6,200 industry profiles, 100,000 company profiles and 110 country profiles the resource also includes Financial Deals as well as Consumer Statistics and Market Data Analytics databases.

Coverage: Global

Access Information
Off- campus you will be prompted to login with your University username and password.

Access Information
Off-campus you will be prompted to login with your University username and password..

It provides 115 million statistics as well as reports and comment. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources, with breadth and depth of international coverage. It is especially useful for studying entry into new country markets, the launch of new products and services targeted to new consumer market segments, benchmarking companies against competitors or investigating the growth potential of specific industry sectors. 205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52.

The content includes the following datasets:

-Passport Cannabis
-Passport Luxury Goods
-Passport Mobility (formerly Automotive)
-Passport Nutrition
-Passport Product Claims & Positioning (formerly Ethical Labels)
-Passport Sports
-Passport Ingredients
-Passport Industrial

Access Information
Access on and off campus. For off-campus access, select Institutional Login (Shibboleth) option. Users are required to register and agree the privacy and security policy.

With a team of over 120 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors, Statista provides students, faculty and researchers with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data and statistics from 18,000 sources and on 80,000 different topics (with a focus on the United Kingdom, the United States, and China ), giving access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics downloadable in all popular formats, including PowerPoint, Excel, PDF and PNG. More than 20,000 Studies, over 3,000 Dossiers, and all major Industry Reports. Detailed forecasts for more than 450 different industries from 40 advanced economies and developing countries. Campus License subscribers also have full academic publication rights to all statistics in this database.

Access Information
Off-campus you will be prompted to login with your University username and password.