Divinity
Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.
Buddhism
Books relating to Buddhism will be found at a variety of locations in New College Library and the Main Library – check this on DiscoverEd. However, BQ is the primary classmark for Buddhism, and BL 1790-2240 relates to Religion by Geographical Area – for East and South Asia
The East Asian and South Asian Collections at the Main Library include materials on religions including Buddhism.
Books for Buddhism
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Religious Studies e-books. These include:
An introduction to Engaged Buddhism by ISBN: 9781350129108
Shared Characters in Jain, Buddhist and Hindu Narrative by ISBN: 1472484452
Samskrta-Subodhini : a Sanskrit Primer by
Saṃskṛta-Subodinī: A Sanskrit Primer marks the culmination of Professor Deshpande's experience of teaching Sanskrit at the University of Michigan for over twenty-five years. Tested in classes at Michigan and elsewhere and successively improved for over twenty years, the teaching materials in the book now offer an effective tool to learn and teach Sanskrit. The focus is Sanskrit as a language, rather than as a religious or mystical entity. Deshpande's primer also simplifies the process of learning Sanskrit by dissociating this language-learning process from the heavy burdens imposed both by the tradition of Indo-European linguistics and the tradition of indigenous Sanskrit grammarians in India. By treating Sanskrit as a productive language, rather than as a dead language merely to be deciphered, the book represents a significant advance over the traditional Western approach to the study of Sanskrit. Work on this book began in 1976, and now almost two generations of Professor Deshpande's students have used successively improved versions. The book's examples include many modified versions of classical Sanskrit passages from epic texts such as the Mahabharata and the Ramayana. The book also contains examples from Hindu, Buddhist, and Jain traditions, as well as samples of Sanskrit poetry and satire.
ISBN: 0891480781
The Foundations of Buddhism by
Buddhism is a vast and complex religious and philosophical tradition with a history that stretches over 2,500 years, and which is now followed by around 115 million people. In this introduction to the foundations of Buddhism, Rupert Gethin concentrates on the ideas and practices which constitute the common heritage of the different traditions of Buddhism (Thervada, Tibetan, and Eastern) that exist in the world today. From the narrative of the story of the Buddha, through discussions of aspects such as textual traditions, the framework of the Four Noble Truths, the interaction between the monastic and lay ways of life, the cosmology of karma and rebirth, and the path of the bodhisattva, this book provides a stimulating introduction to Buddhism as a religion and way of life.
ISBN: 0192892231
Find academic literature for Buddhism
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism A compilation of Chinese logograph-based terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this reference work is pan-Buddhist in character. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Buddhism With approximately 300 million adherents around the globe today, Buddhism is one of the largest world religions. The study of Buddhism is a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Besides its interdisciplinary nature, Buddhist traditions vary enormously throughout the world. Because the field comprises so many varied aspects, research and scholarship is wide-reaching in its response to new discoveries, interpretations, and theoretical ideas. Much of this work has moved online so that today’s students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Managing the ever-expanding universe of scholarly information in this field of study has proved to be a monumental if not near impossible task. Oxford Bibliographies in Buddhism provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload. Unlike traditional bibliographies and online abstracting and indexing services, Oxford Bibliographies in Buddhism offers a much-needed expert filter that relies on expertise that no algorithm can replicate."--Publisher's description
- Twentieth-Century Religious Thought : Eastern Religions A digital collection of critical texts and primary sources that span the breadth of Eastern religious thought, from the 19th to 21st century Explore the doctrines of Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, and Jainism, and the topics of the afterlife, dharma, incarnation, karma, Maya, meditation, mindfulness, reincarnation, sacred texts, and Zen.
Journals for Buddhism
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Buddhism journals. These include:
Heritage Collections
EU1336
The University Art Collections include Gandharan sculptures, like this seated Buddha.The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) holds the Oriental Manuscripts Collection, which includes Arabic manuscripts such as commentaries on the Koran; traditions of the Prophet and Imam and prayers, as well as early texts of the Mahabarata. The CRC's collections also include rare Buddhist palm-leaf manuscripts.
All of these collections can be accessed at the CRC on the 6th floor, Main Library.
Reference books for Buddhism
Search DiscoverEd to find print and electronic Buddhism reference books, or browse the shelves in New College Library. These include:
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by
The most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Unlike reference works that focus on a single Buddhist language or school, The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism bridges the major Buddhist traditions to provide encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism. The main entries offer both a brief definition and a substantial short essay on the broader meaning and significance of the term covered. Extensive cross-references allow readers to find related terms and concepts. An appendix of Buddhist lists (for example, the four noble truths and the thirty-two marks of the Buddha), a timeline, six maps, and two diagrams are also included. Written and edited by two of today's most eminent scholars of Buddhism, and more than a decade in the making, this landmark work is an essential reference for every student, scholar, or practitioner of Buddhism and for anyone else interested in Asian religion, history, or philosophy. The most comprehensive dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English More than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words The first dictionary to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions--Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Detailed entries on the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites in the history of Buddhism Cross-references and appendixes that allow readers to find related terms and look up equivalent terms in multiple Buddhist languages Includes a list of Buddhist lists, a timeline, and maps Also contains selected terms and names in Thai, Burmese, Vietnamese, Lao, Khmer, Sinhalese, Newar, and Mongolian
ISBN: 1400848059
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.
ISBN: 0028657187
Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism by ISBN: 0199362408
Data sources
- Finding data : Research Data ServiceFind data freely available on the internet or through University of Edinburgh subscriptions.
- World Religion DatabaseThe World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.