Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

New resources - CAHSS - 2021/2022

New Library resources for ECA

This page highlights new larger digital items and subscriptions acquired in 2021-22 which were requested by, or are relevant to, the Edinburgh College of Art (ECA). See what we purchased in 2020/21.

The Academic Support Librarian for ECA is Jane Furness.

The Academic Library Representative for ECA in 2021/2022 is Professor John Lee.

We work in partnership with the CAHSS College Library & Information Strategy Committee.

 

New databases

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876:

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, a comprehensive primary resource from the American Antiquarian Society, is the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in the region. It is a valuable resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands.  This unique resource is essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region, as far back as the early 18th century. 

Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection will provide students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures and daily life. Featuring more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands, this resource will chronicle the region’s evolution across two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items.

To summarise, it is:

  • The largest collection of fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers online demonstrating the evolution of the region across two centuries, chronicled within more than 140 titles from 22 islands
  • Essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.

Centre for Research Collections New Acquisitions Highlight

Diane de Bournazel unique artists' books:

This collection consists of four manuscript books created by Diane de Bournazel from 2016 to 2019. These handmade and unique books are filled with intricate densely-packed detail, which draw the eye and the mind into a dream-like world, in which she explores themes that include the natural world, childhood, and human relationships. Each work expresses a sweep of emotions while being imbued with a sense of the inner life. Bournazel uses drawing, painting, paper cutting, and collage. Her imagery is her own, but echoes may tradition - from medieval manuscript to modernism, with traditional engraving, etched illustrations, and folk art too.

Title list:

  1. "Adieu Vat" (2016).
  2. "Que tout ceci reste entre nous" (2019).
  3. "En Temps voulu" (2019).
  4. "Fin de Partie" (2021).

Find out more from the online CRC Archives catalogue.

Que tout ceci reste entre nous, 2019.

New journals

Special Collections

UoE Centre for Research Collections - Special Collections Acquisitions 2021

You can find out about the recent acquisitions at the Centre for Research Collections at  https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/library-museum-gallery/crc/collections/recent-acquisitions . For those less familiar with the UoE Art Collection, more information can be found here.

Library subject guides for ECA

You can explore the Library Subject Guides for ECA subject areas to find out about the full range of library resources for ECA.