History, Classics and Archaeology - New resources - CAHSS - 2021/2022 - Subject guides at The University of Edinburgh

New Library resources for History, Classics & Archaeology

This page highlights new larger digital items and subscriptions acquired in 2021/22 which were requested by, or are relevant to, History, Classics & Archaeology.

The Academic Support Librarian for History, Classics & Archaeology is Caroline Stirling.

The Academic Library Representative for History, Classics & Archaeology in 2021/2022 is Dr Justin Stover.

We work in partnership with the CAHSS College Library & Information Strategy Committee.

New databases

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, a comprehensive primary resource from the American Antiquarian Society, is the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in the region. This unique resource is essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region, as far back as the early 18th century.
Colonial Law in Africa, 1946 -1966
This database provides access to the African Government Gazettes from 1946-1966. These gazettes contain copies of the laws and ordinances which were introduced in the years they cover. Each item was originally published as the Government Gazette for a colony and year. Their contents include tenders of property, probate records and insolvency notices. The papers in this database cover the Mau Mau uprising, the creation of the first legislative councils and legal changes to transfer power to those councils.

Research Source: Medieval and Early Modern Studies
This digital research source from Adam Matthew provides you with access to a huge range of primary sources covering social, cultural, political, scientific and religious perspectives, from the 15th to early 18th centuries.
Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers) - by Wiley Digital Archives
The Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) digital archive contains more than 150,000 maps, charts and atlases complemented by manuscripts, field notes, expedition reports. Includes primary source material related to colonization, de-colonization, British Empire, polar and desert expeditions.
Service Newspapers of World War Two: module 2
Service Newspapers of World War Two contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines. The Library already has access to module 1, both modules are accessed via the same site.
South Asian Newspapers (1864-1922)
This one-of-a-kind collection provides online access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English-, Gujarati- and Bengali-language papers published in India, in the regions of the Subcontinent that now comprise Pakistan, and in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka). South Asian Newspapers offers extensive coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped the Indian Subcontinent between 1864 and 1922.

The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016
The Telegraph Historical Archive is the fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper. Researchers and students can full-text search across 1 million pages of the newspaper's backfile from its first issue to the end of 2016, including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
This database provides access to previously classified documents that were used to develop and implement U.S. domestic and foreign policy and deal with events and crises. The comprehensive compilation of declassified documents comes from presidential libraries, the Department of State, Department of Defense, Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, United Nations, National Security Council, and other executive agencies.
Vetus Latina Database
The Vetus Latina Database is an electronic index to all Greek and Latin patristic citations or allusions to the pre-Vulgate editions of the Bible, collected by the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron, Germany.

New journal subscriptions

New e-books and e-book collections

The following e-book package and encyclopedia were subscribed to in 2021/22.

The individual titles in the package and the encyclopedia can all be accessed via DiscoverEd:

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) - Greek comedy module and Thucydides module.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History

DiscoverEd

ProQuest Access 350

In 2021/22 the Library extended it's subscription to ProQuest Access 350 until 31 July 2023.

These databases allow you to explore 600 years worth of world history and, along with the wide and varied range of digital primary source databases the Library already gives you access to, can help enrich your learning, teaching and research.

Find out more about ProQuest Access 350

Centre for Research Collections (CRC) New Acquisitions

You can find out about recent acquisitions for the Centre for Research Collections (CRC) for 2021/22 on their website.

Recent Acquisitions - CRC

John Augustus Bonney, Manuscript history of the Tower of London, ca.1794; Coll-307.

Library subject guides for History, Classics & Archaeology

You can explore the Library Subject Guides to find out about the full range of library resources for History, Classics & Archaeology.

Toggle navigation menu Menu

New resources - CAHSS - 2021/2022