Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Law

Welcome to the Law Subject Guide - giving you information on library resources and services.

Library Services Update 2021-22

This Library Services page will be kept up to date with information about access to the library collections, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Finding library resources - DiscoverEd

DiscoverEd

DiscoverEd is the library's discovery tool and library catalogue. Use it to search for books, journals, articles, databases, online access and much more. You can find a simple guide we've made for getting started with DiscoverEd here (Microsoft Sway).

Other useful help pages from our website include:

Don't forget that you can ask the Library Helpdesk staff for advice and assistance. 


EdHelp

Bringing  your frequently used student services together, meaning you can find what you need, all in one place. Use the self-service portal to find answers to common questions about the library and student support services, or visit the EdHelp desks at the Main Library or Murray Library. 


LibSmart: Your Library Research Starts Here!                A pile of books features on the centre of the page

LibSmart is our online information literacy course which provides you with a great foundation in digital skills. In LibSmart I you'll work on understanding the information landscape and build key skills for managing information, including citations and referencing. In LibSmart II, you can choose from a range of ten modules to learn about subject specific resources that will help with your academic work. The courses are open to all and run for the full academic year so you can dip in and out as needed. Use them to learn, study or refresh your knowledge! 
 


The Virtual Private Network (VPN)The outline of seven stick man figures are visible with circles around them. Each is connected to another by a straight black line. All the stick men are drawn in black except one which is orange.

The VPN is sometimes needed to access or register to use library resources. It extends the University's network to your PC, making it appear that you are on campus! It is especially useful when you are working remotely. 

Key databases for Law

For more information on accessing these databases and guidance on how to use them, please see the Law Databases: Help & Training page of this guide.

Law Librarian Resources

The Law Librarians Blog is where we regularly post about Library resources, services and information skills training.  

 

Missed a session? Don't worry, we're recording all our training this academic year and will be uploading it to the Law Librarian Resources: Media Hopper Channel

Visiting the Law Library

The recently refurbished Law Library is located in Old College alongside the Edinburgh Law School. Details of opening hours, location and contacts for the Law Library can be found on the Law Library webpages:

We've recently developed a brilliant Law Library Orientation Guide (Microsoft Sway) which you can use to familiarise yourself with the library and its facilities before you visit. If you would like to find similar guides for the other libraries (including a guide to Using the Library Online) visit the Library Orientation Guides page.

For a fuller tour of the Law Library and its content you can look through this guide:


COVID-19: Please note that at present some library services and spaces are limited due to the Covid-19 restrictions. For up to date information see the Library Updates and study spaces pages. 

Online learning

The Library provides access to many e-resources, but we also provide lots of other services and support for students on online learning programmes.

Accessing material not in the library collection

If the library doesn't have what you want...


The Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Service: Request a book image
This allows you to request material either held at distant university library sites, or material not held by the university. 

​Book Recommendations
If you are unable to find the book that you need for your studies then use the Student Request a Book (RaB) service to recommend a purchase.

Visit another library: 
It may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library to get access to the item you require. Some reciprocal schemes and agreements allow our staff and students access to some other libraries. The National Library of Scotland is a very useful resources due to their links with the Faculty of Advocates Library. 

Resource lists & Subject guides

Resource List service logo. Teal background, white outline of a book which is lying open is shown. The word 'Resource lists' are written below, also in white.Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.


Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. Business, Medicine economics etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. You can also contact the Academic Support Librarian for different subject areas if you would like more support or to discuss the content of these guides.