Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Business

Welcome to the subject guide for Business - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library Account using EASE.

DiscoverEd Help FAQs

Business School Postgraduates and Staff

Business School postgraduates and staff also have access to the Hub Library located on the lower ground floor of the Business School and to additional specialist resources through BizInfo.

Literature Databases

Business Source Complete
Full-text database covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance.
EconLit
Econlit contains citation and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, books and  working papers in the field of economics.
Proquest Business Premium Collection
Content from: ABI/INFORM Collection; Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection; Asian and European Business Collection; Business Market Research Collection; Entrepreneurship Database. With global coverage in business and economics,  full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
WARC - World Advertising Research Center
Global sources including Admap, Advertising Association, IPA, Account Planning Group, Effie Worldwide, ESOMAR, Euromonitor and Futures Company/Yankelovic. Includes articles, case studies, research reports, best practice papers and news.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary databases of peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings.
More resources for Business
Full database list A-Z

Markets

EMIS: Emerging Markets Information Service
Leading aggregator with top sources such as BMI, Global Data, Dun & Bradstreet, Allied Research, Buddecom, Grandview as well as data sourced locally in each emerging market.

Access on and off campus. For off campus access please use the University VPN - Access to the University network via the VPN

IBIS World

Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings for UK and US.

Marketline Advantage
Global company, industry and country business information.

Mintel Academic
Market research reports on a range of UK consumer and industrial products and services. Coverage: Reports on Beauty and Personal Care; B2B: Finance; Drink; Retail Overview; Technology.
Mintel Trends provides reports on shifts in consumer behaviour by industry, demographic, theme and region. 

Mintel Market Sizes
Global data on market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.

Passport
Global market research database providing statistics, market reports and comment on emerging industry, country and consumer trends.

Statista

Provides data from market and opinion research institutions. as well as from business organizations and government institutions. Focus on the United Kingdom, United States and China. Gives access to statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and inforgraphics downloadable in formats including Powerpoint, Excel, PDF and PNG.

More resources for Business
Full database list A-Z

Company and Financial Data

Capital IQ (S&P)

Self-registration required. To register visit: www.capitaliq.com and click on New User?. Enter your university email address and follow the instructions to complete registration.

Capital IQ  is widely used in industry and combines deep global company information, credit ratings and research and market research with tools for risk assessments. It provides access to both real-time and historical information and:

  • Global Company Data: financials, fixed income, estimates and ownership
  • Qualitative Data: key developments, transactions, profiles, people, relationships, private equity
  • Macroeconomic and commodity data

Datastream Advance

Access to Datastream is limited to selected computers in the Business School. Edinburgh University staff and students should contact the Business School Hub to arrange access : Hub@business-school.ed.ac.uk

An alternative source of global company information is Capital IQ (S&P) .

Fame
Detailed financial information of all UK and Irish companies updated monthly with up to 10 years of data.

Orbis

Company information from regulatory and other sources data for companies worldwide. Companies covered are Very Large (VL)  operating revenue >= $130 million US; total assets >= $260 million US; number of employees >= 1000

Osiris

Financial data for global listed companies.

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)

Access to a range of databases in fields including finance, accounting, banking, economics and marketing. Subscription includes CRSP and Computstat.

Note: Access is limited to staff and students of the Business School and requires either registration with WRDS or a class account login.

 

Research and Statistical Data

UK Data Service
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC and delivered by the UK Data Service to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data.

Ecoinvent
Ecoinvent database version 3.3 offers science-based, industrial, international life cycle assessment (LCA) and life cycle management (LCM) data and services.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations.  ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioural sciences. It hosts collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

More data listings at the Research Data Service

News

Loading ...

News and current awareness

Loading ...

Finding Library Resources

 

The print collection for Business is held in the Main Library with most books available on the second floor and the ground floor HUB.

The Main Library also provides open-access computing, printing and a range of study spaces.

Resource Lists & Subject Guides

Resources lists at Edinburgh LogoResource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly.

Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.


Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. Business, Medicine economics etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. 

Can't find what you need?

Request a book or other teaching resource

Request an Inter-Library Loan

To request a new journal subscription, or other resource, please send an email using the 'Email Me' link.

Citing and Referencing

Citing and referencing is an important part of good academic practice. Guidance from the Institute of Academic Development (IAD) - find out more here.

Cite Them Right Online. An online tool to help you to understand referencing for a range of sources. 

Training and Digital Skills

A wide range of courses are available throughout the year delivered either classroom based or online. These include finding library resources for your studies, referencing and reference management tools.

Institute for Academic Development (IAD) for academic and study skills.

Digital Skills and Training for digital, information literacy and IT skills.