Skip to Main Content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Informatics

Overview

A warm welcome to the University of Edinburgh Library. This guide aims to help you with information on library resources, services and facilities for your subject. You can explore the different topics using the left-hand navigation. 

 

Library Services Update 2021-22

This Library Services page will be kept up to date with information about access to the library collections, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd

 

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.

DiscoverEd Help FAQs

 

Key Resources - Databases

Multidisciplinary databases of peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings. 

More resources for Informatics

Full database list A-Z

Subject repositories and open access sources

Google

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites

Access eresources using Google Scholar 

Google Scholar may not provide access to full-text, however, by linking to the Library you can access full-text where there is a University subscription. 

  1. Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
  2. Selecting Library Links
  3. Search for University of Edinburgh. Select it from the list and Save your settings

You will now see FindIt@Edinburgh links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text.

 

 

Google Patent Search

Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes patents and patent applications.

Your Academic Support Librarian

Book a meeting
For help with finding library resources for your literature search or referencing

Resource Lists & Subject Guides

Resource List service logo. Teal background, white outline of a book which is lying open is shown. The word 'Resource lists' are written below, also in white.Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.


Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. Business, Medicine economics etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. You can also contact the Academic Support Librarian for different subject areas if you would like more support or to discuss the content of these guides.

Finding Library Resources

 

The print collection for Informatics is held in the Main Library with most print books available on the third floor and the ground floor HUB.

The Main Library also provides open-access computing, printing and a range of study spaces.

Current access restricted Library Services Update 2020-21

Can't find what you need?

Request a book, or other resource

Request an Inter-Library Loan

To request a new journal subscription, or other resource, please send an email using the 'Email Me' link.