Subject guides: Informatics: Home

Overview

A warm welcome to the University of Edinburgh Library. This guide aims to help you with information on library resources, services and facilities for your subject. You can explore the different topics using the left-hand navigation.

Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.

Key Resources - Databases

ACM Digital Library
Full-text of journal article and conference proceedings published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
IEEE Xplore
Full-text access IEEE journals, transactions, letters, conference proceedings, standards, ebooks and IET publications.
MIT CogNet
Resource for the cognitive and brain sciences, which includes the full text of major reference works and over 250 MIT Press cognitive science books, full text of MIT Press journals in the field of cognitive and brain sciences.

Multidisciplinary databases of peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings from all subjects. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.
Access on and off campus.

Not working? Try clearing your cookies. Or, use Alternative login (with the VPN service if off campus).

Description:
Citations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings from all subjects. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.

Detailed information about Web of Science

Coverage:
Citation Indexes: Science and Social Sciences (both 1900 onwards), Arts & Humanities (1975 onwards), Conference Proceedings in Science and Social Science & Humanities (both 1990 onwards), Books in Science and Social Sciences & Humanities (both 2005 onwards). KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980 onwards), SciELO Citation Index (1997 onwards).

Chemical Indexes: Current Chemical Reactions (1986 onwards), Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data (1840 onwards), Index Chemicus (1993 onwards).

Help:
Publisher userguide

Finding articles which have in their reference lists a work you found useful ('cited reference searching'): Cited Reference Searching (pdf)

Journal Citation Reports:

Impact Factors (pdf)
Scopus
Abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers journals from health, life, physical and social sciences and the humanities.

More resources for Informatics

Full database list A-Z

Subject repositories and open access sources

ArXiv
Open access to more than 1,600,000 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
CiteSeerX
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
DBLP Bibliography
The dblp computer science bibliography provides open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.

Google

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites

Access eresources using Google Scholar

Google Scholar may not provide access to full-text, however, by linking to the Library you can access full-text where there is a University subscription.

Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
Selecting Library Links
Search for University of Edinburgh. Select it from the list and Save your settings

You will now see FindIt@Edinburgh links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text.

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories.

Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes patents and patent applications.

Resource Lists & Subject Guides

Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.

Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. Business, Medicine economics etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. You can also contact the Academic Support Librarian for different subject areas if you would like more support or to discuss the content of these guides.