Economics
Overview
Finding Library Resources - DiscoverEd
Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.
Academic Literature Databases
- EconLitEconLit indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and articles in books published since 1969. Subjects covered in EconLit include economic theory and history, fiscal theory, econometrics, agricultural economics, public finance, demography, monetary theory, international economics and others.
- JSTOR Full-text journal archive service providing access to complete back runs of all the scholarly journals currently available in JSTOR. Recent volumes are excluded, usually the last 3-5 years, but each year a further year is added to the archive. The collections currently available are: Arts & Sciences 1-15; Biological Sciences; Health & General Sciences; Ireland and Life Sciences; The 19th Century British Pamphlets Collections is also available via JSTOR. Each title is listed in DiscoverED. User guides to the various collections can be found at https://guides.jstor.org
Working Papers and Repositories
- NBER National Bureau of Economic Research This link opens in a new windowWorking papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research, a nonprofit economic research organization, concentrating on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
- RePEc Reserch Papers in Economics This link opens in a new windowCentral index which includes IDEAS, EconPapers
Research and Statistical Data
- UK Data ServiceThe UK Data Service (UKDS) is a comprehensive resource funded by the Economic and Social Research Council and delivered by the UK Data Archive to provide researchers with support, training and access to the UK’s largest collection of social, economic and population data.
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an international consortium of more than 780 academic institutions and research organizations. It provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
More data listings at the Research Data Service
News and current awareness
- The Economist This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of the weekly publication which covers international politics and business news and opinion. - Financial Times (FT.com) This link opens in a new windowFirst time users will be asked to register for an individual account.
Subscription also provides access to a range of additional tools and resources including: Exclusive FT News and Comment (including Lex) Industry-specific insight and analysis Surveys/in-depth reports
Access is available online or via an app on your phone. Download the FT app and use the email address and password you created on first time login.
- FactivaProvides business news and information together with Reuters Fundamentals and D&B company profiles. It contains more than 35,000 authoritative sources including The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Also includes most world press including UK national and regional press and trade magazines. Content by freelance writers, some features and supplements may not be available.
Coverage: Click on the info icon next to each publication for coverage information and update schedules. The oldest article is from 1944 (Le Monde). - Nexis This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 23,000 UK and international news and business sources, financial and market reports, biographical data and thousands of legal and regulatory services. Includes Company Dossier which delivers company information on 100 million international companies and executives.
Resource Lists & Subject Guides
Resource Lists are online reading lists that can signpost you to key reading materials. Some of your courses may have a Resource List embedded in the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) but you can also access them directly. Full details are available on the Resource Lists: Information for Students webpage.
Subject Guides from other disciplines can be a useful source of ideas and information. Some focus on a topic such as newspapers as well as others that are more subject specific e.g. Business, Medicine economics etc. A full list of subject guides is available on the university website. You can also contact the Academic Support Librarian for different subject areas if you would like more support or to discuss the content of these guides.
Your Academic Support Librarian
For help with finding library resources for your literature search or referencing
Finding Library Resources
The print collection for Economics is held in the Main Library with most books available on the second floor and the ground floor HUB.
The Main Library also provides open-access computing, printing and a range of study spaces.
Can't find what you need?
Request a book, or other resource
To request a new journal subscription, or other resource, please send an email using the 'Email Me' link.
Citing and Referencing
IAD referencing guidance
Citing and referencing is an important part of good academic practice. Guidance from the Institute of Academic Development (IAD)
Cite Them Right Online.
An online tool to help you to understand referencing for a range of sources.
- Referencing and reference managementInformation on referencing and the tools that can help you.
