Fame provides information on over 13 million UK and Ireland public and private companies, with detailed reports for over 2 million. You can research a company in detail or find companies that match your criteria.
Fame provides 20 years of history and is updated monthly.
FAME allows you to search by any combination of over 300 criteria including: geographic location, SIC code or activity description, number of employees, statement items, ratios, credit score/rating, legal form, year of incorporation, holding company / subsidiary. The selected companies may then be displayed or printed in a variety of customisable formats or exported to other applications such as word-processors for mail merging, databases or spreadsheets. Company comparisons can be achieved using the Peer Analysis option whilst the Statistical Analysis option allows you to produce market sector reports.
Access Information
Access on and off-campus. Choose University of Edinburgh from list then click Select button. Login with your University username and password.
Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide. The 'Very Large' subset has coverage of 118,000 organizations globally with detailed financials, long-term historical data, and granular ownership information, sourced from 170 information providers around the world.
This dataset will allow you to create time series panel datasets on lists of companies filtered from over 300 search criteria, which can then be exported and used for external analysis to support your research.
The University subscription for Orbis is limited to information for companies in the category 'Very large company' These are defined as companies which have an operating revenue >= $130 million US, total assets >= $260 million US, employees >= 1000
Access Information
Access on and off-campus. Choose University of Edinburgh from list then click Select button. Login with your University username and password.
Osiris (discontinued by vendor 1 December 2022, content is available from Orbis- Very Large)
Osiris was discontinued by BVD/Moody's Analytics on 1 December 2022, Osiris content is available from Orbis - Very Large.
Financial information on 55,000 listed and major unlisted/delisted companies worldwide (43,000 are non-US companies).
The information includes: standardised and 'as reported' financials (including restated reports), SEC filings, detailed earnings estimates including recommendations, ownership, stock data, news and ratings.
Access Information
Access on and off-campus. Choose University of Edinburgh from list then click Select button. Login with your University username and password.
Pitchbook is a financial database platform covering private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A activity. It provides insight on deals, investors, venture backed companies and general technology trends.
Access
Go to https://my.pitchbook.com/loginAction.do?action=sso&defaultName= and enter your university email. You will be re-directed to a standard UoE login page, which will then take you through to PitchBook.
Note: Please note that PitchBook cannot be used for bulk downloads of raw data.
Please note: when you sign up you will be asked to read and agree to Pitchbook’s terms and conditions. These include agreeing that you will not share your account details and will only use the site for academic, educational, and scholarly use.
Access has been funded by the Data Driven Entrepreneurship Beacon Programme and delivered by Edinburgh Innovations. If you are interested in commercialising your research or idea, please visit the websites of EI (https://edinburgh-innovations.ed.ac.uk/) and the DDI (https://ddi.ac.uk/) and get in touch to see how they can help.
Pitchbook have a Help Centre (https://help.pitchbook.com/s/) available to all users of Pitchbook (authentication required), here you can find videos and tutorials to help with getting started on the platform as well as advanced navigations, our methodology and data information and popular articles.
You will also find additional videos on the Pitchbook Youtube channel at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3438DE0BB880DD65
Capital IQ is widely used in industry and combines deep global company information, credit ratings and research and market research with tools for risk assessments.
It provides access to both real-time and historical information and:
• Global Company Data: financials, fixed income, estimates and ownership
• Qualitative Data: key developments, transactions, profiles, people, relationships, private equity
• Macroeconomic and commodity data
Access Information:
Self-registration required. Click on New User? Enter your University email address and follow the instructions to complete registration.
Support materials are available at: https://pages.marketintelligence.spglobal.com/Academic-Resource-Center-Student-Training.html
S&P Capital IQ Pro (formerly Market Intelligence) is a global financial database, providing corporate, financial, and market data plus news and analytics for banks and insurance companies.
It covers 50,000+ listed, non-listed and subsidiary banks (30,000+ active) in the Americas, AsiaPacific, Europe, Middle East and Africa. It provides financial data, news, company documents, market data and country profiles.
S&P Capital IQ Pro also provides access to the universe of companies from S&P Capital IQ with additional coverage of small companies.
Access Information:
Self-registration required. Click on “New User Sign Up” and select “S&P Capital IQ Pro New User Sign Up.” Enter your University email address and follow the instructions to complete registration.
If you encounter login issues, try accessing via https://capitaliq.spglobal.com/ on campus, and if off campus, via the VPN (information at: https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/computing/desktop-personal/vpn )
Support materials are available at: https://pages.marketintelligence.spglobal.com/Academic-Resource-Center-Student-Training.html
WRDS is a research and data platform service which allows researchers to search a range of research datasets using same simple interface.
It provides access to the databases: Boardex; Compustat; CRSP; CRSP/Compustat merged; Execucomp; and ISS Directors Data.
You will find comprehensive guides to using WRDS in the Classroom area of WRDS. Or contact their Help Desk, email wrds-support@wharton.upenn.edu
Access Information
Students should register at: https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/ You registration request will be sent to a WRDS representative for approval. Please note it will take up to 3 days for your account to be approved.
