Literature review & study skills resources for intercalating medical students
Getting started
Welcome to this guide to Library resources and services, working with research literature, and study skills for medical students moving into their intercalated year.
On this page you will find some general resources. Use the menu on the left-hand side to view pages on:
- Doing a literature review
- Where can I find research literature on my topic?
- Academic writing
- Referencing
- Doing a systematic review
This guide has been written by an Academic Support Librarian and aims to direct you to sources of further information on these topics.
All the resources featured in this guide are available to you through the University of Edinburgh Library.
Study Skills resource list
- Study Skills Guides resource list
The Institute for Academic Development (IAD) have compiled a resource list on study skills, including general study skills, academic writing, critical thinking, literature reviews, and dissertation and project writing.
SAGE Research Methods
A good starting point for information on research methods is SAGE Research Methods.
It contains content on the steps involved in a research project, including a full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioural sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences.
Topics: Key concepts in research, Philosophy of research, Research ethics, Planning research, Research design, Data collection, Data quality and data management, Qualitative data analysis, Quantitative data analysis, Writing and disseminating research.
SAGE Research Methods also includes a project planner designed to guide you through a research project.
Undergraduate study skills workshops
The Institute for Academic Development run workshops for undergraduate students on a range of topics relating to your studies.
Informations and how to book is available on their website.
Topics include:
- Managing and writing projects and dissertations
- Getting to grips with essay writing
- How to read and write critically
- Citing sources and creating bibliographies using software tools
- Essays in exams
Study Hub
Study Hub learning resources provide advice on specific study skills topics, plus downloadable resources with useful study strategies.
It covers a wide range of general academic topics such as
- time management
- academic writing
- statistical and numerical data
- study skills guides
- exams
Medicine subject guide
Find library resources and services related to Medicine, including key databases, on the Subject Guide:
Your Academic Support Librarian
Contact your Academic Support Librarian for help with:
- Finding the information resources that you need and making effective use of them
- Getting the best from library resources and services
- Reference management
There is a dedicated Academic Support Librarian for each School. Find the Academic Support Librarian assigned to your subject area and how to contact them: Academic Support Librarian by subject
If you are unsure who to contact just send an email to the Library Academic Support team: Library-Academic-Support@ed.ac.uk and your enquiry will be directed to the appropriate team member.
Useful books on study skills, research, and dissertations
The Study Skills Handbook by ISBN: 9781137610874Publication Date: 2019This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability.
How to Read a Paper by ISBN: 9781119484721Publication Date: 2019How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more.
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences by ISBN: 9780702074936Publication Date: 2019Provides a comprehensive overview of health research, in a concise and easy to read format using examples directly related to the health sciences. It helps students understand health research models, and how research goes on to inform and improve evidence-based clinical practice. For practitioners it provides guidance on published research in journals, providing an essential tool to keep their practice evidence based. Uses simple language and demystifies research jargon Covers both quantitative and qualitative research methodology, taking a very practical approach.
EdHelp
- EdHelp
Bringing your frequently used student services together, meaning you can find what you need, all in one place.
You can also visit EdHelp on-campus at the Main Library (George Square) and the Noreen and Kenneth Murray Library (King’s Buildings).
Comments and Feedback
- Feedback FormSuggestions or feedback on this guide are welcome. Please get in touch via the form.