Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Medicine (MBChB)

This guide aims to round up the most useful resources and information related to the (MBChB) Medicine

Information about Library & University Collections services in response to COVID-19

This page contains current information on library closures, loans and fines, support for online learning, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Useful Resources

Literature Databases:

  • Medline: A key resource covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy and healthcare services.
  • Embase: Covering pharmacology, medicine and biomedical literature this database is an essential resource.
  • PsycINFO: Contains material from the fields of psychiatry, psychology and psychological related disciplines.
  • Web of Science: With resources from a variety of subjects areas including over 2,500 core medical journals.
  • Scopus: Encompassing health, physical sciences, social sciences and humanities subject areas.
  • Clinical Key: A clinical search engine which aims to help healthcare professionals make decisions in patient scenarios.  
  • Cochrane Library: Contains high-quality evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. 

Decision Support Summaries (Point of Care):

Anatomy Resources:

  • Acland Anatomy Online: High quality videos of the human body.
  • Anatomy TV: A multimedia 3D anatomy learning resource.
  • Complete Anatomy
    Interactive 3D anatomy learning resource. 
    *Please note that the in-app Courses are not included in the Library subscription*
    Notes: In order to gain access, you need to register while on campus, or if you are off-campus with Virtual Private Network (VPN) enabled. To get started, 
  • download the Complete Anatomy app via the Apple, Microsoft or Google app stores. 
  • open the app and select the Profile icon.
  • select Register for free.
  • Register in-app while on-campus or using VPN while off-campus. After registration, the app may be used off-campus without VPN. To set up the VPN on your device, see: https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/computing/desktop-personal/vpn

Video Journals and Seminars:

  • BMJ Learning: accredited and peer reviewed learning sessions in text, video, and audio formats for students, doctors and other healthcare professionals.
  • JOVE: A collection of video journals covering a wide range of subjects including Neuroscience, Medicine, Genetics and Cancer Research. Search via the E-Journal A-Z pages. 
  • Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical and life Sciences Collection of over 550 seminar style talks by leading world experts.

Other Medicine Databases...

Intercalating medical student?

Visit this guide to Library resources and services, working with research literature, and study skills for medical students moving into their intercalated year.

Literature review & study skills resources for intercalating medical students

Unable to get access to a book or journal?

Can't find a book?    If the university doesn't have a book you need for your studies then use the Request a Book Service.

Can't access an article?    Use the Interlibrary Loan Service to get resources (digital or hard copies) delivered to you.

Academic Support Librarian

Ruth Jenkins's picture
Ruth Jenkins
Contact:
Western General Hospital Library
Crewe Road South, Edinburgh, EH4 2XU
0131 651 8760

Finding Resources

Use DiscoverEd to find the resources you need. Use DiscoverEd to explore:

  • online resources
  • physical resources
  • special repositories

Your EASE password gives you access to your library account.

Need help searching DiscoverEd? Have a look at the help pages and  FAQs.

Course Resource Lists

Need to find the recommended Resource lists for your course? Then look it up at the Resource Lists Homepage.

Exam Papers

Exam Papers Online provides access for staff and students of the University of Edinburgh to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards, They may be used by students as a study aid only.