Subject guides: Library & Information Science: Development opportunities

This guide aims to provide information and links to useful resources on the topic of librarianship and information science

Development opportunities

Information Services provides a wide range of development opportunities for staff.

Journal Club

Library & University Collections Journal Club
Library & University Collections Journal Club meets regularly to discuss a recently published article in Library & Information Studies. Information Services staff, interns and volunteers as well as interested students are welcome.

Postgraduate courses

Library & Information Qualifications accredited by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP)
MSc in Book History and Material Culture
The MSc in Book History and Material Culture at the University of Edinburgh has been accredited by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP).

Information Services Staff Scholarship Scheme

ISG Staff Scholarship Scheme
The ISG Staff Scholarship Scheme provides funding for members of staff to undertake part-time study for career enhancement.

You must have the full support of your Director and your line manager.

Scholarships are awarded for a programme of study with any higher educational establishment.

Jobs at the University of Edinburgh

https://www.ed.ac.uk/human-resources/jobs

All jobs at the University of Edinburgh are advertised online, via the eRecruitment system.

MyCareerHub

https://www.ed.ac.uk/careers/mycareerhub

MyCareerHub is exclusively for current students and graduates of the University of Edinburgh.

Volunteers and interns

Volunteers and Interns
The Centre for Research Collections at the University of Edinburgh manages applications for volunteer and intern library roles.

ELISA : Edinburgh Libraries

ELISA
ELISA works collaboratively to raise awareness of the collections and services of Edinburgh’s library, museum, archive, records management and information resources. ELISA provides a regular programme of library visits and events.

Chartered Institute of Library & Information Professionals in Scotland : East Branch

CILIPS East Branch
The remit of a CILIPS branch is to contribute to the formulation of CILIPS policy, act as a link between Council and membership, stimulate wider involvement of members and students by organising professional and social events and disseminating information on branch activities. Each branch has a committee that plans and manages the branch activities.

Mentoring

Mentoring Connections
The Mentoring Connections programme is available for all staff irrelevant of grade or career background. It is designed to enable Mentees and Mentors to connect with each other with the Mentor offering support and guidance to the Mentee.

Job shadowing

New Library Professionals Network
A list of librarians who are willing to allow aspiring librarians to shadow them.

Digital Scholarship

Digital Scholarship in the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences provides training opportunities in the area of digital and data literacy, as well as library carpentry.

Digital Scholarship

Toggle navigation menu Menu

Library & Information Science

Development opportunities

Journal Club

Postgraduate courses

Information Services Staff Scholarship Scheme

Jobs at the University of Edinburgh

Volunteers and interns

ELISA : Edinburgh Libraries

Chartered Institute of Library & Information Professionals in Scotland : East Branch

Mentoring

Job shadowing

Digital Scholarship