East Asian Studies

The archives of the Grand Secretariat currently housed at the Institute were originally kept at the Grand Secretariat Storehouse in the Ch’ing imperial palace. They were removed from the Storehouse when it underwent renovation in 1909. After the overthrow of the Ch’ing, these archives changed hands several times, and were, at one point, even sold to a paper recycling factory. Eventually, the Institute purchased them from Li Sheng-to, a book collector, in1929 thanks to the efforts of Fu Ssu-nien, the Institute’s first director.

The archives contain valuable source materials for institutional, social and economic historians. They record general administrative activities and legal cases, many of which cannot be found in Ch’ing legal compendia.

The Revolution They Remember, a full-length documentary film, explores how the Chinese Cultural Revolution (1966-1976) was experienced by ordinary people and how it is remembered today based on two video oral history projects. Initiated in 2015 by the East Asian Library of the University of Pittsburgh Library System, the CR/10 Project recorded, preserved, and published video interviews with Chinese citizens sharing their memories and impressions of China’s Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. At Dartmouth College Library, the Down to the Countryside Movement Project includes interviews with former “Rusticated Youth,” young people who were relocated to China’s rural areas during the Cultural Revolution.

The Revolution They Remember features selections from the interviews from these two projects, as well as images contributed by interview participants, archival footage, and photos. The film also comprises commentary by scholars of modern Chinese history.

Description: One of the hurdles researchers of modern and contemporary China face in their studies is knowing about, and having access to, archival collections held at Chinese archives. The Greater China Archival Resources Web Archive collects websites belonging to established, physical archives and learned archival societies located in the Greater China region, and archival projects from or about the Greater China region. Under the Chinese government, local archives administratively operate under the guidance of the local archival bureaus which themselves are part of local government and responsible for archival management for entire geographical areas. Therefore, the information available on the websites not only covers the collections that are held in each of the physical archives, but also includes policies, news, reports, research articles, and publications that are related to archival management in respective provinces, cities, or countries. Curated by librarians within the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation, the Archive aims to provide stable reference to the born-digital content originating from Chinese archives for future access, and attempts to capture the changes of these websites over time, thus documenting political change in China.

World Digital Library provides 19,147 digital items (as of 26 Feb 2020) about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000. The database can be browsed by place, time period, topic, type of item, language, and institution.

The archives of the Grand Secretariat currently housed at the Institute were originally kept at the Grand Secretariat Storehouse in the Ch’ing imperial palace. They were removed from the Storehouse when it underwent renovation in 1909. After the overthrow of the Ch’ing, these archives changed hands several times, and were, at one point, even sold to a paper recycling factory. Eventually, the Institute purchased them from Li Sheng-to, a book collector, in1929 thanks to the efforts of Fu Ssu-nien, the Institute’s first director.

The archives contain valuable source materials for institutional, social and economic historians. They record general administrative activities and legal cases, many of which cannot be found in Ch’ing legal compendia.

读者可免费登录使用国家图书馆读者云门户平台部分古籍类资源（包括东文研汉籍影像库、法藏敦煌遗书、哈佛大学善本特藏、天津图书馆古籍、云南图书馆古籍、上海图书馆家谱、数字古籍、赵城金藏、中华医药典籍、碑帖菁华、敦煌遗珍、甲骨世界、年画撷英、前尘旧影、数字方志、宋人文集、西夏论著、西夏文献、中华古籍善本联合书目、徽州家谱20个资源库）的服务方式调整为免登录访问。为获取最佳访问效果，建议读者在访问此类资源时使用chrome浏览器，其他资源暂推荐使用IE或火狐浏览器。