Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Law

Welcome to the Law Subject Guide - giving you information on library resources and services.

Useful resources

Legal abbreviations

Free legal dictionaries

Don't forget that some of the legal databases also have dictionaries and indexes!

Key newspaper databases

These databases allow you to cross-search through a vast range of newspapers and news sources, both from the UK and globally. National and regional, broadsheet and tabloid papers are covered, as well as many news websites and news agencies. A number of titles included have full text available from the 1980s/90s onwards. 

To see a full list of News and Magazine databases go to the Newspaper and Magazine databases list.


Factivs logoFactiva 

Primarily a business news and information service it contains more than 35,000 authoritative sources including a large range of UK and overseas newspapers, both broadsheet and tabloid, national and regional. As well as news websites and news agencies. Content by freelance writers, some features and supplements may not be available. Click on the info icon next to each publication for coverage information and update schedules. 

For off-campus access you must use the Virutal Private Network (VPN).


Nexis LogoNexis UK

Access to over 23,000 UK and international news and business sources, financial and market reports, biographical data and thousands of legal and regulatory services. Includes a large range of UK and overseas newspapers, both broadsheet and tabloid, national and regional. As well as some news websites and news agencies.

Once you've accessed Nexis UK, click on "News" to be able to search the newspapers. Alternatively, you can use the "Power Search" option.


Infotrac logoInfotrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand provides full-text access to more than 2,300 world national and regional newspapers. Includes information about the contents of other titles. Also, sources of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts are included.


Financial Times (FT.com)

Access to the free content and additional resources including: Exclusive FT News and Comment (including Lex) Industry-specific insight and analysis Surveys/in-depth reports - industries, countries and business trends, Power Search tool searching through the 5-year FT archive, View print edition - exclusive previews from the Financial Times newspaper, FT Confidential Research, Instant Insight and Editors Choice email .

Access via the library specific url which will ask for your EASE login. First time users will be asked to register for an individual account.


Note that while vast amounts of content is available through these databases, some content is missing. Due to copyright reasons these databases usually don't include photographs, illustrations, etc, and some freelance material. Sections such as classifieds, obituaries, etc., are generally not included as well.