Welcome to the Edinburgh Futures Institute subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for EFI.
Find your course reading lists via Resource Lists. Type in your course code or keywords from the course title, or your lecturer's name.
Please note that not all courses at the University use Resource Lists.
Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, journals, ejournals and more. Sign into your Library account using your University Login to manage your loans and requests.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Like DiscoverEd, Google Scholar can be a good place to start your search but it does not allow for advanced or complex searching as in the databases.
Google Scholar may not provide access to full-text, however, by linking to the Library you can access full-text where there is a University subscription.
You will now see FindIt@Edinburgh links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text.
This short video below demonstrates how to do this.
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship by 
The Oxford Handbook of Interdisciplinarity by 
Routledge International Handbook of Participatory Design by 
I have a regular office hour on Monday afternoons for students to book appointments for librarian consultations.
Book a librarian consultation to help you research more effectively, by enhancing your knowledge of library resources and helping you develop effective search strategies and reference management software skills. Consultations are usually online.
To book an appointment, please email me at Christine.Love-Rodgers@ed.ac.uk
More information at : https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/library-museum-gallery/academic-support-librarians/one-to-one-librarian-consultations
We hope that you find this subject guide for EFI useful - please use the feedback form to tell us more.
Our other library subject guides can be a great source of ideas and information, particularly when you are researching interdisciplinary topics. There is a library subject guide for each School and for many individual subject areas.
Did you know?
We have interdisciplinary subject guides that tackle key topics, including:
